Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sword and Shovelry

by tayl1r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your shovel to find seashells under the ground, beneath the surface some might say, and defeat the enemies. Arrows at the side of the screen point to the dig spots and enemies are invulnerable until all have been collected.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#241Graphics3.70
#372Fun3.25
#484Overall3.25
#669Humor2.28
#688Theme3.12
#699Audio2.49
#717Mood2.82
#778Innovation2.75

Comments

Natman says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Good work! It's pretty fun. I enjoyed it even more after I realized exactly what was going on. I didn't notice the arrows were pointing to the shells, or that my sword wouldn't inflict damage until I collected all 3.

I'd say the art is pretty good as well, and you have pretty good gameplay. The biggest flaw is with collision. Sometimes it's hard to get around trees, and the sword fighting is a little awkward.

Not bad, though. Overall I like it.

bensimms says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Hehehe I won't say what this game reminded me off, that said the controls and animations are perfect, good work!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! I've sneaked in a few changes to the descriptions here and on itch.io to clarify the arrow/damage rules.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

Nice job! I really like the tree sprites, and the limited colour palette, it comes across really nicely:)

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Great work! Pretty addicting. I like the art style and the retro feel of the game. As Natman said, the collisions were a bit off, and I took damage when it seemed that I didn't hit the enemy.

Overall, good game! :D
Please check out my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:02pm

The game is so fun, and the gameboy visuals style is awesome! I really enjoyed playing it! Good luck!

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Difficult, but the graphics are awesome and the game seems quite polished (not like many other entries)

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

+ good, simple graphics
+ challenging on later levels
+ fun and somewhat puzzle-ish

- the enemies move awkwardly
- walking between trees is a bit tedious

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

You had me at Sword & Shovelry.

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Spent a while hitting the enemies before reading that I needed all the shells, really fun game!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Thanks to everyone who has played it so far.

Sorry about the collision problems. I think the biggest offender is the tree's collider which is a 2x2 tile box but visually has a lot of empty space.

I'm also unhappy that when enemies bunch it's hard to knock them away because they collide with each other. :(

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

It took me until the fourth level until I realized that there are arrows indicating the possible positions. Should have read the description. It's actually quite a good mechanic as the first shell is more difficult to find than the last one. Sadly I haven't gotten any further than the first bird level on two tries as I keep getting stuck on trees.

Other than collision detection however the game is very polished! Good job!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Lol. I felt like looking for my car's keys with someone following me around until I found out that those triangles in the side of the playing area are a hint to the location of the seashells. Well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

At first I didn't know about the arrows but after finding that, I really enjoyed it!!
Nice visuals and gameplay although it's true that collisions are sometimes iffy.

ripatti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really good game desing, I like it! It's simple but complete!

Well done!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Well done overall but very difficult due to collision. Love the art style though!

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03am

remind me good memories.
a little more ia will be fine.

Havacore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

This is great! I Love the gameboy palette that you used, great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

nicely done, reminds me of the GB games

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34am

I liked the nostalgic feel (I loved Link's awakening) so the graphics and mechanic catched me.

The tree collision feels wrong. You should try using a polygon collider 2D.

_Rilem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nostalgia attack. :) <3 the gameboy look. Takes me back to zelda.
Fun little game with great graphics. Also the sounds are good, what you see a lot during LD is that people take the first blip out of sfxr and stick with it. These sounds actually fit the actions they are bound to. :)

Great work!

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Cool 8-bit graphism, it's remind me Final Fantasy Legend! the game is simple but very Fun. It's a good job!!

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Very creative. This is an instance where the simple choice is what worked well. Might have been nice to have more levels but it was fun to play nonetheless!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice little conceptm I loved the seashell hunt in Link's Awakening so i can only like your game, level 3 is hard though :D

May 1, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Cool game. Very Zelda-esque of course. Love the Gameboy aesthetics, and the mechanics are simple but fun.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:22pm

It took a couple of tries, but I was eventually able to get to the end. The new mechanic was intriguing, adding both an avoidance and sword-fighting mechanism within the same game and level, though on a conceptual level I was a bit confused as to why collecting seashells--in a forest--would help my sword function. Am I a shellmancer? Is my swing so aggressive that it would damage the fragile archaelogical treasures beneath the surface if I attacked too soon?

The level progression was smooth and the stage sizes perfect for the mechanic. I appreciated the surprise of the new opponent coming at the end! From a conveyance perspective, I felt like a little bit more feedback when I hit the enemies would have been helpful--not just the knockback--or perhaps having them flash before disappearing. I had a little bit of trouble keeping track of how many folks I'd managed to defeat on that one level with 4 bad guys. The sword movement was also a bit odd. It seemed strangely smooth in comparison to the rest of the game, and a little bit artificial.

All-in-all, it was a neat new concept backed up with old-school graphics that, themselves, taught me some of what to expect in terms of gameplay. Great job, and thanks for the game!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Good little game with good graphics (considering its inspiration).

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Interesting action-puzzle concept.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:13pm

lovely game boy-graphics. the gameplay is good and has a little strategy to it, but as others have pointed out: the collisions are a bit bad.

adding a death-animation for the enemies would be nice too. also, i was confused by having two hearts when i die after three hits.

oh, and what a great name!

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Not very original, but efficient and addictive ! Good work !

jsspiegel says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I reallllllllly like this concept. The Gameboy-esque art is also awesome!

PriorBlue says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I love the gameboy colored graphics and style.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Great game, love the graphics. Took a minute to notice the arrows but once I did it all came together fairly quick.

Erkberg says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Very nice idea, well executed. I really liked the gameplay and the graphics, but there is one downside. Not everyone has a qwerty-keyboard, I for example have a qwertz layout, which makes my fingers sad while playing this game. :)
Please consider adding alternative controls.

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:27am

This is a nice entry; I really dig (hehe) the old Gameboy graphics. :D I think the only thing missing from this game is in-game context and explanation; my experience only got better once I realised that the off-screen arrows were for and the purpose of the shells.

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Enjoyed the arrow mechanic for finding the seashells. Nicely done. :)

paps says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:08pm

loved the art

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]