Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Leeway Brothers' Bohemian Debut Of A Lifetime

by Jiggawatt - Jam Entry

Go beneath conventions like WASD controls to discover the underground funk culture. Play that funky music to make the world a more extravagant place.

It's got some quite promising ideas, but I'm gonna need more time than a game jam to execute them properly. (The missing "gig mode" is a bit unfortunate.) Until that, do enjoy the bits that are playable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Audio(Jam)3.68
#127Innovation(Jam)3.60
#174Humor(Jam)3.13
#245Graphics(Jam)3.70
#348Overall(Jam)3.25
#471Mood(Jam)2.88
#475Fun(Jam)2.80
#719Theme(Jam)2.05
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

Kind of a typing game with a quirky skin on it, at the end of the day. Of course, games like typing at the dead are a great example of how little is wrong with that formula.
Much like typing at the dead, this is treated as a silly game first and a psuedo-typing challenge second, making it kind of fun to play.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Maybe if you'd had to type words, this could be a really nice learn-how-to-type game :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

It's not trying to be a typing game, just something where you jam to the beat based on interval fragments. But I found it hard to enforce players to be musical, so I could use some ideas.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The gig mode would've been more rhythm game-like (except with resource juggling), shame I ran out of time. But there's gonna be further development of this, consider the submission a first prototype.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice game, I love rythm games! I don't know if this one was checking if I hit the notes in rythm, by I did it anyway. ^^
I'm looking forward to see what this game will become in the future. :)
(Cool retro font btw :3)

May 3, 2014 @ 12:55am

lol i got a pile of points on the notes. graphics saweet. now i'm jamming. :D

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:58am

Very unique, and very fun even if I had almost no idea what my end goal was. Ended up racking up a lot of black and blue notes. Very original and fun. Ideas for enforcing people to be musical? Make note combos come out in a specific instead of random order, or let a lot come out at the same time that would fit well in any order.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:47am

Xaychru04: Yeah that's how you should roll, go with the rhythm to get the most out of this. Maybe add some extra notes here and there to jam something more fun.

I did try a metronome feature to enforce the rhythm (marked by the blinking green light - keys wouldn't count when the light wasn't green), but that was kind of restricting and laggy so I disabled it in the end. I guess that wouldn't have been so bad though.

And I appreciate that you appreciate my font connoisseurship. I downloaded the red font but it didn't work right, so I recreated it in Fontstruct because it's perfect for this. Using 04b_03 everywhere feels lazy, details like that matter to me.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

That corgi can't handle all that jazz that I was jammin'.
Pretty cool, and I'd easily listen to that song for hours on loop.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Love the art style! There's definitely something here, though I will admit it feels unfinished. A platform to build upon, though!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:07am

Wow, really great concept, though I had to quit about 5 minutes in because it got too stressful to play with so many notes everywhere. I'm really excited to see what you can do with this idea in the future.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:42am

I played for a while got like 500 black notes and 300 blue ones, isn't something supposed to happen? I couldn't read the guy's text all the time because it's hard to keep track of everything. The game looked great but how do I get to the level with the dog with the wood spoon that's in your preview image? I must play with that dog! :P

Jiggawatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:16pm

joe40001: Something did happen, you already unlocked the next scene. I guess you just missed the dialogue about pressing left/right to move between areas.

Which reminds me, I should add like arrows highlighting that you can change the area. I understand it's easy to miss some of the spam during a good jam.

Lucariatias says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Pretty smart idea. With a little more expansion and variety it could be a lot of fun.

TobiasW says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Hm! Being entirely unmusical (I couldn't even play on a triangle to save my life), it was a bit hard for me to enjoy the game. I'm not very good at finding and holding tact, so it kind of became a typing game for me.

I like the characters a lot and sadly I missed some parts that they said because I was concentrating on my, uh, audience. (That is the people that have yet to flee in disgust.)

A hint for the signs over the audience members: Those should probably be higher/lower when two become to near so they don't obscure each other. Also it might be helpful to be able to switch to a QWERTZ/AZERTY layout, but hey, that's obviously nothing you think of while jamming.

Pity you didn't get to finish it. I'll check out the post-compo version if you finish it! Sorry I couldn't provide any hints on how to make it a better musical game, it's something I have absolutely no knowledge about...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]