Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bathyscaphe11

by j_peeba - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bathyscaphe11 is a fast paced top-down shooter. You are a lone survivor aboard a bathyscaphe and you need to go through a series of submersibles to clean up a mutant infestation! Game features multiple levels, different weapons and monsters as well as an energetic soundtrack!

You can listen to or download the soundtrack here as well: https://soundcloud.com/john-peeba/bathyscaphe11-soundtrack/s-W6MOi

This is my third LD game and it's my most ambitious one to date. The game took around 25 hours in total to make. Created with Unity3D, Photoshop, Aseprite and Ableton Live.

Here's a development timelapse video: http://youtu.be/pq4kEEi4mmM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#20Fun4.05
#35Overall4.02
#48Audio3.85
#55Mood3.92
#165Graphics3.86
#295Humor2.88
#577Innovation3.04
#889Theme2.84

Comments

shs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

That's a clever way of creating "shadows".

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

The shadows looked amazing! At first it felt like the enemies were too tough, but once you started inroducing new weapons and enemies it got rather interesting! A tiny bug, I think: the enemies kept rotating slowly instead of looking at me when attacking.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Yeah. Enemy rotation was one of the things that sort of fell off my table when I was in hurry. :)

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Awesome game! Music really added suspense!

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

Fantastic! I love this kind of game. Enjoyed finding the secrets too - can't believe you did this all in two days.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38am

This is epic:D. Reminds me of good old Doom. And these shadows - ingenious trick!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

Hey, thanks for the comments! For the shadow trick I'll have to give credit for Teleglitch. ;)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

I love that lighting style, its really nice! Great concept!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Good game, reminds me of wolfenstein 3d for some reason.

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Wow, the visual style is amazing (are they tall black walls the make the shadows?!), the murdering of enemies is satisfying and the little secret rooms are a great touch. One of my favourites this LD so far!

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very nice music and a great game! Very hard to control the player with the trackpad. I have to try it again later with a mouse.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Thats one hard game you've made here! Especiallly in the beginning when you enter the room full of those bad boys. It's really enjoyable though. Good work!

Scam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Loved the assault shotgun! Great game.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Solid shooter! Great mood and music. I wish the weapon sounds were a bit more powerful but that's a minor complaint :)

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Love the shadows, IA a bit dumb sometimes but great game !

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

This game rocks. Starting from interesting, storytelling tutorial and ending on awesome music. Very comfortable steering and game is very addictive (at first quite difficult, but after few deaths it's playable).

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Liked the variety of weapons and enemies. The reload feels slightly on the long side, but makes things more tense!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Love it! Really fun gameplay. It was neat finding a bunch of different guns. Music was perfect as well.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Welp, that was hard. @_@
Nothing new, but solid entry!

hhayk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

looks awsome

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Solid entry. Great controls.

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

nice shadows and great game play. :)

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Real fun, reminds me of the flood levels from Halo. The way you did the shadows was pretty ingenious. I never would have thought to do that.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Very solid top down shooter, great graphics, soundtrack and very fun game-play. I really liked the little messages on the ground too. Nice work!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Great game! And dat shadow trick! Hahaha, awesome!

Beep2Bleep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I can't rate as I didn't make a game but GREAT JOB. I'm going to look at the source to see how you made it in unity3d.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

Pretty cool. I made a game that was similar last Ludum Dare.

petrih says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Best game I've played so far! Well done!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Awesome work !
I really like this "hotlinemiami" style, with really cool shadows, and these weird aliens !
Keep it up !

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Awesome game! I like the shadow effect. Good job!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Very nice game

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:50am

Nit bad but connection with theme lost.

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Very good game! I like the aiming mechanism: if you keep the mouse near your character you can rotate quickly but inaccurately; if its further away mor accuracy and less speed.

Kate Kligman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Loved the shadows and the music.

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Shadows + lighting look good :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Really fun to play, liked the music and the shadows!

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Truly awesome environmental graphics and good fun to boot!

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Difficulty is high but it kept me playing. Shadow trick is great and adds to the mood. The random accuracy thing didn't work for me. I had a hard enough time aiming :)

voxel says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I enjoyed the short, sharp levels. Some nice ambushes, and didn't feel like I got sent back too far when I died.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]