Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the well

by JaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oops! You fell into the well and now you are stuck beneath the surface. Use the luminescent orbs that also happen to open doors to get back out!

Use the arrow keys to move and the down arrow to interact.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#78Audio3.70
#85Graphics4.12
#129Mood3.68
#150Fun3.59
#167Overall3.66
#227Theme3.64
#315Innovation3.42

Comments

skiesgamingtv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Hi ! Great game ! I really enjoyed it, nice mechanics, and not that easy once you've opened a few doors ;) I will definitely try to finish it once I have more time !

You'll find my (french) review here :
http://youtu.be/WqvmyGceKcI

Good luck for the votes !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Rly nice one

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Solid puzzle game with very nice pixel art. Good job!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

very good pixel art, sweet color palette too. I'm bad at navigating through the dark caves so I did not get that far, i like the idea of placing and taking light orbs though. And the music really sets the mood. It's too bad that i suck at platformers.. :::///

TobiasW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:19am

Your pixel art is lovely as always, and the music and sound effects are great! The navigating in darkness after you walked with a light through a part once was pretty clever the first time I encountered it - it got a bit old after a while though. In the end, I managed to finish the game.

PS: I miss your writing in this one. You write so well!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:25am

I am pretty sure I played this one game alone for about an hour. It was helpful how you created locks in some areas, to cut down on the amount of shuffling around players could do when they were trying to finish a given puzzle. Trying to navigate through the dark was annoying, but as soon as I realized it was an exercise in memory, rather than in, well, navigation, it got a lot easier. I also didn't mind all the backtracking so much, since it was over a small area.

My only complaint is that the SFX and music seems a bit out of balance, and the noise when you don't have a light gem to place is actively grating. Otherwise, a great little game that was enjoyable and feels complete.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:28am

Solid concept, I got stuck quickly though. Also I love the title screen :D

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Great graphics, good sound, and nice puzzle mechanics. It felt a bit tedious at some points guessing around in the dark though. Still a good game.

mechabit says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:56pm

lovely graphics and fun to play

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Great graphics and sound work for 48 hours.
Impressed you made it all.

Quite a lot of puzzling going on. I got sick of backtracking long before finishing mind.

Some of the jumps were a bit awkward, with having to jump on a platform with no head clearance to make it to the next one.

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Woah, really great challenge, took me ages to figure out =D

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Have no idea what to do in third room. :(

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Whenever you come across a dark room, you probably need to find a light first. There is only one dark room that you won't have a light for to explore first.

Thanks for all the comments!

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice and interesting puzzles. Really hard, too.
Not so keen about the light-thingy though. Platforming in the dark gets frustrating really quick.
Nevertheless, really good entry. Congrats on finishing in time!

Zyper says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Wow! Amazing gameplay!
I beat it in 20 minutes. ;)

ripatti says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Just awesome puzzle game with elements of Metroidvania! I reached rooms with stone walls and looks like the maze is really big. I'll definitely do the the second try with piece of paper to draw all rooms to don't get lost. Great job!

ripatti says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Returned to say that I finished your game (without piece of paper). Your game is one of the best entries I have tried so far!

Logun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very cool. Nice mood : light, music, the water drops, simple and great.
I sadly i am blocked quickly :( want to see more about the level design !

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Really cool puzzles. Unfortunately I couldn't figure out how to escape but I got really far. These puzzles where quite challenging with remembering all the areas as well as being combined with the dark navigation challenges.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Fun intro. Incredible music.
Great concept, cool puzzle and exploration.

Managore says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:29am

Really solid use of light! I was very surprised by how much depth (no pun intended) the puzzles had. Unfortunately I ended up getting stuck in a wall after returning from the second upgrade room (the one that is in complete darkness) and had to restart the game, losing all my progress. Other than that, a great game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]