Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Mountain

by atlantian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Delve deep into the mountain, fighting monsters and collecting Treasure in this retro-style Action RPG.

Use the mouse to navigate and attack monsters.

In General, I was happy with how much I accomplished before the deadline. I would of liked to have added an inventory system.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#440Fun3.14
#525Audio2.83
#530Mood3.00
#603Overall3.14
#748Humor2.18
#767Graphics2.83
#909Theme2.80
#933Innovation2.56

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Cool. I like that the music fits the game, but I wish the FOV was just a touch larger.

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Good work + it reminds me of Gauntlet! It's a bit too hard to attack and thus I keep dying.

capnramses says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

yep, my favourite so far - really nice. lots of great elements in the game that work really well. i kept playing for ages. i didn't think the music fit - i would have preferred something darker or even ambient sound - it was a bit cheery and hymnal for me. the clicking mechanism for moving was different but works well. ghosts and particles were my favourites!

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Interesting the way you implemented a small RPG system, such things always take adaptation to fit into 48h and it's nice to see when people achieve that. You could've added more types of enemies. Also, it would be nice not to have to click repeatedly to walk/attack.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

Feels like one of those games you'd end up wasting 3 hours playing because you're always just one kill away from leveling up again. Maybe I've played too many RPGs.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

The multiple clicking was a bit exhausting. At the very least you should have him move towards the mouse as long as I have the button held.

Very cool to see that you managed to build an RPG system like this though. Nicely done!

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Impressive judging by the timeframe! Reminded me of the old-school dungeon crawlers. Maybe a bit too much clicking to do, would have been nice to at least hold down the mouse while moving.

All in all, pretty good though :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

Nice, simple yet fun. Liked the shadow effect, well done :)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

I got majorly axed up. I couldn't figure out how to effectively attack though...

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Not bad. Minor quality of life suggestion: let me click and hold to move / attack continuously.

Baknik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:25am

A really fun time! I beat it with an all attack speed and health regen build.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Lovely, really nice lighting, view, movement, combat, levelling system. Maybe a pickable torch to increase FOV ? Great job overall

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Very nice illumination. Controlling the movement via keyboard would be a nice addition to this game. It was fun to play regardless

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]