Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worm Quest

by kill0u - Jam Entry

I was running for the Compo but gave up during the week-end because of a lack of physical strength and ideas I liked..

I entered again today (monday) for the JAM, making this little game with the compo rules and in one day. Do not expect to much from this game ;)

Anyway, enjoy!



Controls:
----------------------------------
Left/Right arrow: move left/right
Down arrow: dig (you can't dig through rocks, though)
M: toggle mute
N: next level, if too hard for you :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#206Theme(Jam)3.49
#210Fun(Jam)3.27
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#292Humor(Jam)2.77
#339Graphics(Jam)3.47
#517Mood(Jam)2.81
#536Innovation(Jam)2.66
#594Audio(Jam)2.29

Comments

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Nice work, this game is quite addictive

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43am

Quite fun! the graphics look really good and the overall game is fun

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43am

I agree. It's quite addicting. The worm noise though got a bit irritating. I would like to know what my high score was when I start a new game to know how far I got before. Nice job!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

That's a lot for one day man! Good job

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

I like the art, specially the initial screen before you play. Sound is however really boring. The puzzle element combined with limited time makes a good 4* overall for you :)

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

3990 points, I died when an ant got in the way o the only way down (the rest was blocked by falling rocks). pretty good! cute art.

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07am

I liked it, nice dig effect

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

I really like the puzzle aspect of this, requires a bit of forward thinking. Seems well rounded and polished to so great job

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

That was pretty cool :)
Glad you put a mute in though, I found the sfx to be a bit obnoxious!

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Harder than it looks at first glance.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Simple and fun. Nice work

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Very addictive!

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

simple but effective!!

kevinAlbs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:32am

Great work. Gameplay was very smooth and artwork was great.

v_n_j says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03am

Nice game, but it seems there is no way to pass second ant except maybe moving as fast as you can before it reaches you. Maybe I just don't see a way.

And there is somethng wrong with the way game restarts after dying. Collected letters don't reset, and other weird things happen.

By the way, doesn't that worm moving sound comes from Worms series? :)

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13am

Very good work for one day! Probably good that you've stayed simple and neat instead of trying to achieve unachievable in such a short term.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45am

Cute game, liked the art and the gameplay. Simple but done really cleverly and well.

kill0u says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

@v_n_j: there is a way, you need to kill the ant (yep, you can do that!) and then go right ;) I'll check on game restart, didn't spend much time on it =/ Thanks!

kill0u says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:20am

Game restart fixed :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Nice game.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

nice job, and especially in that short a time!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Simple and addictive ! I restarted the game 3 times before giving up ! I wish that when you die you respawn at the previous level !

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I couldn't make you respawn at the previous level because of the stamina & letters =/

I added a little walkthrough for the toughest level (2nd ant): http://imgup.motion-twin.com/twinoid/0/7/79d8de75_8297.jpg

Exergy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Beautiful game with the classic worms movement sound ;)
Good entry!

JonathanG says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very good!

joe40001 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:47am

Fun and not too hard, worm noise was a bit loud and could have used slight background audio to balance it out, well made puzzler though. Good job

tiffi_gaming says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:22am

That movement sound brings back memories :D Had fun with your worm (Oh that sounds just plain wrong...)

kill0u says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:35am

Come back and have fun with my worm anytime! (wait.. what?)

Acuity says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:24am

Game is interesting, but I don't like the worm noise. :P

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:29am

very funny Game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]