Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ascent

by sstrandberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A six-degrees-of-freedom first-person-platformer/racing game.

Right, so, this is a bit complicated to explain. The short version is as follows:

WASD to run
SPACE to jump
Mouse and QE to change what way you're facing
SHIFT for brakes (you'll never use those)
R to restart from the most recent checkpoint
T to restart from the start of the game

Here's where it gets a bit complicated: while you're in the air, WASD does absolutely nothing at all. The only thing that matters is the way you're facing - you'll automatically glide forwards whenever you're in the air. The trick is, you have more control over the glide the closer your aim is to the angle of the momentum you've got. If that didn't make any sense, just remember to take smooth long turns whenever you can - it's faster.

Something to take into consideration is that the runspeed is FAST. So fast, in fact, that you can run straight up walls. From a standstill, if you want. That being said, the way your legs work is that they don't really care in what direction you run in as long as you're touching something - basically, if you want to stay on a wall, you need to run "into" it a bit, otherwise you're likely to fall off. Not that you can't pretty easily glide back on at high speeds.

If it's still confusing, feel free to send me an email at sfdstrandberg@gmail.com. I'm also on twitter with @sfdstrandberg if that's more your type of thing I guess. Oh and http://sstrandberg.tumblr.com is a devlog of sorts. I think that's everything. I'm tired. It's 2:18AM here and I've been making myself seasick with videogames.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#128Innovation3.78
#189Fun3.52
#278Overall3.47
#352Mood3.22
#462Graphics3.30
#626Audio2.63
#924Humor1.90
#1199Theme2.02

Comments

greg-anims says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11am

ay yo dis is sum ballin ass game son! just 2hard4school if u feel me

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

The learning curve is high, but it was a lot of fun once I got a few runs at it.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

Neat look n feel. Controls were a bit hard, but I didn't mind it.

Perry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

So I think I'll be one of the few who actually finished this... Twice. So that says something about the game. The design was really good, level design was pretty darn great, I took a run at doing some sections in reverse and they're a lot funner going down than up. Going fast in this game felt good, I've told you this already, but I have to emphasize it. If you ever revisit these mechanics I think they'd make a decent "Descent" game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

This s really interesting, but I really need some easy intro terrain to get a feel for the controls, it's just toooo weird.

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Like others I had some issues with the controls, very interesting entry though.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

This was fun and interesting, you might want to double check your FPS controller, turning in the air caused me to have a (somewhat) permanent "roll" rotation, which was cool in the air but seemed odd/hard to work with on the ground. Good job!

Chris Mondok says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

This game is really cool, but it could use a less technical course. As a beginner, it was not an ideal environment to grasp the controls / feel.

Evilion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very good feeling in this one, the flow is efficient and hard to master !

sstrandberg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Thanks for the comments so far!

kmakai: this is intended behaviour. you can use Q and E to correct the roll.

Jonathan and Chris: You're absolutely correct, I just sort of ran out of time and chose to make the course I made as interesting as possible instead.

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The sounds communicate information really well in this game. It's also really cool and fun! Great job!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Had fun with this game until I got stuck. Hit a wall and couldn't seem to get past it. I would love to spend the time mastering this so will come back to it once I played some of the many other LD entries! Great execution though and looks awesome.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Controls are pretty different than most games, but that's awesome. Very fun game and very challenging. The game has great ascetics but low geometry, but that doesn't take away from the fun. Great job with this, really enjoyed playing it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Wow, it was super hard at first but really awesome!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Love the style, REALLY COOL mechanic. Really fun. But. So. Hard.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

Quite a difficult game! But teh gliding mechanic is quite fun... the take off needs a bit of work

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Everything is cool in this!
Thanks a lot for bringing me some challenge right in the morning :D
The feeling is so neat!

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

great game & excelent idea.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

great game & good comcept.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Very and very strange controls...
Can't find any links with theme...

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Very challanging! There should be more red plates near the start :) Overall a nice fresh runner game :)

Meedoc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:47pm

The best physics I've seen for a while! It's impressive how you embrace the avatar after failing several times!

Roman Kornev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Amazed by the game! So unique and innovative! The idea of conserving momentum while still trying to turn is very challenging! You should totally develop this concept more!
The only thing I dislike is that the gameplay feels kinda slow. It has to be more fast-paced.
10/10 anyways!

Chronodrax says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The feels :
1) wtf I'm falling
2) how am I supposed to do this ???
3) Oh ok this is how it works... ouch damn wall
4) wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee this is so much fun !!! oh I missed that platform. oops.
5) nailed it ! 16 min >_<"
I've tried to speedrun this again today and finally got a highscore of 06:15:79 !
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?attachment_id=358795
This game is the best race-style game I've played in years! Thank you so much !!

Chronodrax says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03pm

There's a sortcut near the beginning which can make you gain like 20 seconds : instead of going through the 4-5 successive holes turning to the right, use your speed to go directly up and on the right, on the last platform used to gain speed and reach the far inclined platforms :) you may lack some speed if not done correctly though :p

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Wow! Great racing game here! Too hard for me, but still .. i was trying at least for 20 minutes.. Good job!

May 2, 2014 @ 12:55am

Where is the "Trippiness" field for apropriate rating?
I might need a few pills.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:15am

KSHHHHhhhhhaaaaaaaa during the first banked turn through gateways is a tremendous feeling, sound in ears when Success Jump is exhilarating Dream Feeling. Played for too long.

guimonpa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Really tricky at first, but great fun once you get the hang of it, nice concept!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Strange controls, but I like the ambiance of the game - very promising.

May 11, 2014 @ 11:31am

okay, this was a bit tricky, and hard, and i can't say i got very far, but it's an innovative runner/platformer.

DavidErosa says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Pretty fun but a bit frustrating sometimes. It took me a good amount of tries to get past the first zone!

7elephants says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:35pm

It took me some time to understand the gameplay, it's a little bit difficult to get the point of the controls, but the game shows lots of potential and imagination! Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]