Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Firefly

by KevinWorkman - Jam Entry

You are a yellow firefly. Your mate is the other yellow firefly. Use your arrow keys (or tilt your Android device) to meet your mate.

This is more a meditative toy than it is an actual game, so mostly sit back and enjoy the light show.

I finished this in 48 hours, but I'm entering the jam because I got the pictures from here (http://photos.kevinworkman.com/) and the piano notes from here (http://theremin.music.uiowa.edu/MIS.html).

This game was made with libGDX.

PS- Yes I know that only male fireflies fly. I'm okay with that. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#132Mood(Jam)3.63
#269Graphics(Jam)3.64
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#304Audio(Jam)3.20
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#580Fun(Jam)2.57
#598Humor(Jam)1.92
#735Theme(Jam)1.89

Comments

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08am

Light production in fireflies is due to a type of chemical reaction called bioluminescence. This process occurs in specialized light-emitting organs, usually on a firefly's lower abdomen. The enzyme luciferase acts on the luciferin, in the presence of magnesium ions, ATP, and oxygen to produce light. -Wikipedia

Nice little hallucinogen-amplifier you got there!

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Nice effects

Jojo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I liked the mood of this game. I also liked the way the lights seem to be synchronized to the music. How did you do that? Hard-coded? Are the piano notes played randomly? Am I just imagining that the lights are synced?

caranha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

That was a pretty interesting idea. I liked exploring the scenes under the lights of the fireflies.

One thing that disappointed me a bit is that the screenshots show dozens of fireflies, but the first three or four levels only had a couple of them...

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Cute game. I love the mechanics but it is hard to identify the firefly that you need to meet. May it should start each round by first blink the player, second the muse and then the random pattern.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

Nice relaxing game :D.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Simple and relaxing - only later levels were little chaotic. Check out my libGDX+box2dlights game if you are interested :-)

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:03am

Nice game! Congrats!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06am

What a beautiful game :D nice sounds and light effects. Sometimes i cant find my self but not a big deal, the game is fun and relaxing (: Great work :D

jeffz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

Looks and sounds very nice, but I can't tell if I'm playing or just tilting looking foolish. I sat my android device down on the couch next to me and won a few levels without any interaction. Definitely an interesting direction though, well done!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:01am

Interesting game. The controls were a bit unwieldy, and with nothing other than the color to tell them apart, it turned into a guessing game for me (colorblind). A small particle effect on the mate fly or something would have been a huge help.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:20am

Cool effects. To enhance the 'meditative' theme, I would have liked to have a more mellow, seamless transition from one stage to the next. Cool idea though, and well executed.

hyouko says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24am

This game makes me sad when I finish a level too fast.

Not sure what it has to do with the theme precisely, but I'm glad I got to play it.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Cute game, but I feel like I didnt get the theme. I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:43am

The light effects are really pretty, but the hitboxes on the fireflies feels way too small. I think having the different colours be different instrument notes or different shapes would both add variety and be a nice concession for the colourblind (though I can see the latter not mattering once enough are on screen).

Pixlexia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:46am

The light effects are beautiful. The piano is perfect too, but I'm thinking it might be better if the notes played were on a same chord/scale, the music would be even better that way. But nevertheless, the mood is really nice and I played for more than a few minutes just so I could get to the levels with more fireflies. Great job!

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Beautiful game. So relaxing... Sometimes I think I moved too quickly that was kinda hard to stop. Very cool entry!

May 8, 2014 @ 1:14am

Neat little concept. While playing, I kept thinking of fun potential ideas using swarm intelligence and image recognition to make the flight paths more whimsical.

Good idea with the audio.

mogwai says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Fun idea and very relaxing. Although bit hard to see which firefly I control and which one I need to move to.

frogcheese says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Really fun, cool idea - easy at the start but progressively harder as more and more fireflies started stealing me and my mate's thunder. Interesting audio choice as well, though it was at its most effective when there were fewer fireflies around so it was easier to connect the notes to what was happening on screen.

garygreen says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:28pm

I really liked the graphic effects and the hidden images. It was very relaxing too.

Taffaz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Great mood and very relaxing to play

Snoother says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Wonderfully sedate, and the piano sounds and blinking are reminiscent of Brian Eno's "Bloom" app -- which is invariably a good thing. It was a bit vague at first as to what you were controlling, but it's a minor gripe.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]