Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

From Below

by TyrusPeace - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a kraken-like beast, and have independent control of all four of your tentacles, which you use to attack, grab, and throw boats, submarines, and whales. Naturally, all of these things explode.

You can also catch missiles!

----

Game made in Unity, music made in GarageBand, and models made in Blender. SFXR was used for what few sound effects there are.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#8Theme4.24
#76Innovation3.97
#89Overall3.84
#109Mood3.72
#147Audio3.51
#276Graphics3.62
#319Fun3.32
#382Humor2.71

Comments

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Hey guys, I just uploaded a quick bug fix for your best finishing times not showing on the title screen. I assume few folks will actually finish this, but I did bother to save it off so I figured I might as well spend a couple more minutes to make it actually display!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I saw this in a screenshot earlier in LD and had to hunt it out! I like being able to grab previous enemies, nice touch!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

This game is so unique love the feeling when I kill a whale or submarine but I wish there were some textures. But overall probably the best so far.

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

Love the effective use of monochrome & color, really nice game to look. I think it would feel better to move around if, because of the weight and enormousness of the monster we're playing as, it didn't move so quickly. The mechanics feel like there's no drag from being underwater, like physics doesn't apply to us. Really great game, a joy to play!

kidder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31am

This is awesome.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Pretty cool, I had a lot of fun playing it. The mood works well and the four-tentacle thing was cool. Snatching torpedoes and such.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

Great mood, good music... strangely satisfying to grab and throw with the tentacles. Controls were a little touchy.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

Cool game, but I had some difficulty coordinating all the controls.

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16am

This was really cool! I loved how you could go from shallow to deep. Very stylish! Cool under water reflection effect too. Also just the idea of being a kraken :D

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I finished the game and enjoyed it. Especially I like the soundtrack + ambient audio combination. I would make the action more intense. Shorter distances and more enemies.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I like the graphics and audio in this one. Everything exploding when thrown was funny, but a bit odd. Overall I'm very impressed with the amount you got done in such a short time.

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Awesome! Nice art style.

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44am

I love the concept. It's pretty hard to catch the torpedo but throwing them back to your enemies is satisfying.

But why destroyed Submarine still launch torpedos ? It could be nice if you can use them as weapon by desactivating the tracking on torpedos. Certainly too much crazyness considering the overall mood of the game. :)

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13am

incredibly immersive! it was a lot of fun, if a bit too easy.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23am

Awesome water effects!

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

859s... I got pretty good at catching torpedoes towards the end :). I think all games should probably feature whales as anti-missile countermeasures from this point onwards.

The controls need a bit more physical presence, i.e. inertia and a perhaps particle effects to convey speed. Otherwise pretty good. A bit on the easy side, but its usually safer to make things easy in a game jam so that people actually play your game through :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

Like the feeling the game gives, really felt like the hunter :)

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Been looking forward to this from the gifs I had seen during the competition, it is really fun! I especially liked keeping fish in my tentacles just for no reason, good job!

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:45am

Hmm... Web game starts but "click to play" doesn't do anything. Will try non-Web / Linux tomorrow. Was really looking forward to this one!

Frump says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:00am

Really cool and unique. It was hard to catch the missiles but rewarding when I did. Well done!

hugamer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Nice game! Amazing graphics and concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]