Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wyrmery

by Jonathan Whiting - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A human munching baby-making wyrm simulator.

Dig around, eat some humans, get long, get
pregnant, have a baby "It's an.. egg!", have
another, squabble with your children for food,
dodge the weird drill things. Do something
else.

Linux and (hopefully) OSX builds coming very soon. Ran out of time to make them before the deadline.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Theme4.24
#16Fun4.14
#47Overall3.95
#92Graphics4.05
#140Humor3.32
#216Innovation3.57
#238Audio3.29
#292Mood3.32
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

This looks really good and is kinda fun to play too, good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

This is absolute fun! Sounds are epic as hell:D Really enjoyed playing!

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

That was fun to play! Simple controls make it play well. I also liked the graphics and effects.

Maybe could have used some music.

Nice.

Looking at your screenshots I thought at first you played as an itenstinal worm :)

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Simple and great. Fun game!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

This one crashes when I try to run it. I'm on Windows 32-bit. The console window closes right away, but it says something like "Failed to open GLPW window."
I really wanted to play this! I'll check back in a few days to see if there's a fix.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

hissssssssss: If you run it from a command line and get me the full text of/a screenshot of the command line it would be a huge help!

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

On the first run, when Comodo Firewall was running, it opened a black window instantly and nothing reacted anymore (probably because Comodo wanted confirmation for something and I couldn't switch back). I thought my computer died :|

Now after a restart Comodo is in "game mode" though, so it run smoothly. Just as smooth as a wyrm eating through soil and humans. Which in this case is very smooth! The controls felt a little bit TOO responsive to me, but apart from that, digging and jumping felt great.

The sound effects fit well, and the music is a bit minimalistic for my taste, but works.

I didn't read the description at first, so the first egg was a really nice surprise - as was the child roaming alongside me.

I'm really missing either a lose condition - or better yet, a goal. The exploding drillers aren't working for me: After I got bored, I tried to seek death, but I failed. Also it would've been more interesting if there is either a) bit more to do on the surface or b) more reason to dig underground.

All in all, a pretty cool game though! I came after seeing your GIF and I wasn't disappointed.

PS: Your GIF sort of inspired the initial idea for my own game - before I took it in a *completely* different direction. Thanks for that!

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03am

I played this a really long time. I like how it feels like a deep system you're learning the rules of more than just an arcade game. I enjoyed all the aspects of this. Really good work getting it all balanced so well. It is satisfying to eat the humans and surf around as the worm. It reminds me of how fun it is to control the plane in LUFTRAUSERS. I also like the subtle multiplier system in wyrm length == egg gen.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

Finally another Worm game! I was getting worried. When I was making my worm game, I had originally planned on doing something more in the vein of this with chompin on people, but instead took a simpler level based approach. Really glad you made this.

The game looks great. I love the style and the colours. The worms move beautifully. It's very powerful when one of your babies is wriggling next to you. Also the wiggle to go faster is genius and really well done. I got to 4 worms I think and couldn't really make anymore due to the ground being too broken and me getting hit by bombs a bunch. I think a bit of sound and some juice could take this game a long way, score or something would be nice although making it more objective-based may clash with you style. Great job!

hissssssssss says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:11am

Jonathan Whiting: Sorry to keep you waiting! Here's a screengrab of the crash:

http://imgur.com/G9SabZN

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I played that for a long time. Excellent. Could have done with a score, or an objective, but it was very enjoyable to play.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:13am

Simple idea, good implementation, fitting sounds
Well done. The game has more dimensions as seen first. The drills are a little bit annoying since it is often not possible to dodge them in time. Strange is that is has no end. Even when I am directly hit by a drill I don't die. Maybe different levels would be an idea?

SnoringFrog says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:37am

Really neat idea. The only "issue" I had was not being able to adequately sabotage myself to death lol.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]