Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Lies Beneath The Surface

by Jacic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an archaeologist, in search of an ancient underwater treasure in this underwater exploration game. The water may be more dangerous than it appears... Can you survive long enough to escape with the treasure?

I tried to create something more moody than my previous games, and I think I succeeded! Controls and instructions are in-game.

Made with Haxe + HaxePunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Theme3.68
#483Mood3.06
#704Audio2.48
#947Fun2.55
#980Overall2.73
#999Innovation2.45
#1018Graphics2.45
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice job, very fun to play, the background need more information, it is not easy to understand when I move

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Not bad, the movement need a bit more feedback though, as over the single colored background you cant really tell if you are moving or not

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Very simple concept, but a lot of fun to play. some additional visual feedback for hits and movement would be nice, but it was enjoyable. Nice story :)

May 4, 2014 @ 8:06am

Solid shooter!

May 7, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very retro-looking. I liked the drum sound effects. It started sounding like a song as I got farther down.

Kate Kligman says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:42am

Unsure what the shield did (or maybe I didn't survive long enough to use it). Like the concept, good use of the theme. I liked that the water seemed to get darker the further the player descended. The sound worked well with the gameplay too.

Tomski says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:54pm

nice concept. Bit hard to tell if i was moving or not. maybe a few more details in the background.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Wall of text at instructions is very intimidating for someone who just started the game. Try to make them (a lot) shorter next time, and put the story in the game itself. It was cool that you had a story though!

Some camera movement relative to the player would have been nice to indicate that you were going faster or slower, or right or left.

Game seemed okay, but the difficulty increased at a too slow pace for this kind of game. And I don't think that having such a wide level is wise, since it just felt unfair when the air bubbles appeared far away from you. Maybe an indication of where there was air bubbles would help?

borrismoose says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:51pm

It took a while to get going. When the game started to challenge me with managing my resources it got a lot more fun so having that happen quicker would have been cool.

madmaw says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:10pm

One of those concepts where (as a fellow LD'er) you go "damn! why didn't I think of that!" I think you have captured a good atmosphere and were really on-message with the theme. I think there's a lot of potential for something unique here.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]