Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the bed

by Kyatric - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A HTML5 game made with Construct2.

Use the arrow keys or WASD or ZQSD to move the character and its candle to light your way.

Story: At night, a girl falls asleep with her Doll Grishka by her side. Soon, a monsterish hand comes from under the bed...

Use a modern up to date browser (Chrome or FireFox) and make sure to also have updated your graphic card drivers.

---
My first time completing a compo entry (usually I take too much time and end up entrying jams). In that, it's already a victory :)

Please leave any feedback and I hope you enjoy(ed) playing my game :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Innovation3.62
#260Mood3.38
#503Humor2.50
#785Graphics2.81
#849Audio2.16
#996Theme2.62
#1048Overall2.65
#1081Fun2.35
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

Interesting idea! It's nice to see people trying something a bit different. The slow pace you're forced to move at in order to keep the candle alight was very atmospheric at first, but after a little while it just started to feel like it was taking too long for anything to happen. I'm not sure if there's a way to speed it up while keeping the atmosphere?

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

I liked the dark and creepy atmosphere. Good hold-your-hand instructions to guide you what to do.

I found the controls a bit frustrating, though, in that it was hard to keep slow enough so the candle didn't blow out, which meant the pace was slower than I would have liked.

Good graphics and theme feel to it though. Thank you.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Cool concept, but verrrry slow. It felt like it took forever to get anywhere.

Good Game.

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Thank you for the feedback.
Discussing with a friend who also tested the game after submission, an idea to keep the pace "better" would be to add already lighten areas where the player could go at his own pace without caring about the candle.
That could, I guess create areas of relief and make you dive back into the darkness after a while.

Thanks a lot for the feedback !

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

Ah the thing got me - I didn't even see it coming. The pace felt pretty frustrating after I figured out what was going on. All I wanted to do was hold down shift or something and slowly walk.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I like the different take on needing to move slowly and deliberately to keep the light up. The only problem there is that regaining progress after failure is pretty tough since you can't rush to catch up. Nice feel to this one.

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Agreed with vilya- the movement started off good, but then felt too slow. I like the random eye blinking though.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I liked the graphics and the mood of the game, I think that allowing a bit more speed or duration of candle would help it to stay exciting.

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

A refreshingly unique concept, but it did get tedious after a while. The flickering light was nicely done. My favorites were the freaky wall-eyes and the girls ridiculous expression. Congrats on making the compo.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

controls were interesting, but like the others said, having to start and stop for the candle wasn't the greatest. i like the idea of a shift to sneak slowly key.

Thijsku says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

Hey Kyatric,

I already played and rated your game earlier today, but since you wrote a nice long comment at my game, it only seems fair to give you a comment as well.

First of all, I think it's a nice concept, I think you can do some fun things with the light mechanic. But to be honest, I don't really like the execution of it.

It's kind of annoying that the candle goes out when you move. That concept could work, but it can be quite frustation when you have to stop every three seconds to get from point A to point B. (especially since the player is really slow) The fact that most of the game consists out of walking empty spaces doesn't really help. I died more often because of walking a little too long rather than the monsters killing me.

There isn't much else to talk about. I think you did a good job with the graphics and I definitely like some details like the staring eyes.

----
I didn't read the comments above me at first, so I could give you a non-biased comment myself. Lighten areas could be a nice addition, although I'd combine it with the idea of GertJohnny. You could add slow walking and a running system. However, make sure that there is a nice balance between the two of them, so the pacing doesn't get out of balance.

Congratulations on finishing your compo entry!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

I guess there is something to work with this game/prototype, the ambiance is there, the boarding phase of the game does the job, but it needs proper tweaking afterwards to keep the interest.

Thank you very much everyone for the comments and feedback, I greatly appreciate it !

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:03am

Real good atmosphere you created there!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice idea but I thought the sound was a bit jarring and having to move so slow was a bit frustrating. Liked the Nice graphics and the atmosphere worked well.

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:39am

i find this candle concept very original, i like it!

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Not a game for the impatient :) The part with the doll was awesome.

May 11, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Interesting game, though very hard for me :P I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

Kyatric says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Thank you again everyone for playing and leaving feedback !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]