Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface of Sanity

by Shigor - Jam Entry

Beyond the Surface of Sanity... much fun waits in Madness!

After wasting almost whole day by a desperate attempt to make something completely different... I've turned to this.

I had to move to the jam because it just wasn't finished enough... (not that it is now any better...)

I present the Surface of Sanity, first person shooter with endless randomly generated levels.

Controls: WASD, mouse looks and shoots, E to take items, 1,2,3 switches weapons.
Find a way to the exit teleport on the current level... only to find yourself in another and even worse!

Mac and Linux version are not tested and might not work. (Made in unity by the way...)

Oh.. and one more thing, level generation is kinda slow so it might look like the game hung up (about a second or two on my fast machine). I guess I don't have to add that the optimization is non existent and it will probably run pretty slow on older machines...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#61Humor(Jam)3.67
#136Fun(Jam)3.44
#175Mood(Jam)3.52
#197Overall(Jam)3.47
#240Audio(Jam)3.35
#316Graphics(Jam)3.53
#545Innovation(Jam)2.64
#592Theme(Jam)2.66

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26am

all of my stars, I had so much fun with this game and I don't know why (maybe the formula!). You are doing something good!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

COOL!

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

I really like the graphical style of this game... ever play Halfquake? Reminds me of wolf3d in terms of gameplay...

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

I was a little lost, but great setting. You guys chose a the right style.

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Nice job. :D

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

Neat art style. It's not often anymore that an FPS draws me in.

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

I really enjoyed the stylized graphics and aesthetics of your game, with some pretty great humor as well!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Cool man! Wished the map wasn't so big though. keep it up! :)

4KbShort says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Was not able to get the game running well enough to rate. Played the web version, was a bit laggy, downloaded the windows version to see if it was a web issue. 1024x728 w/Good graphics (default) still laggy in full and windowed mode. Thinking this might be an issue on my side, but unsure.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

Interesting game, there are very few FPSs with random level generation. The bullets on the ammo boxes look like dicks.

Loneshark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

I spawned in a room full of loot that made the game way too easy (or so I thought).

I found myself avoiding the exit just so that I could explore the first floor as much as I could. I think I had most of it explored...but then I ran out of ammo when a ghost-thingy was assaulting me!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Oh noes, I just found VERY stupid bug - gunshots stop at the door when hitting the trigger that detects player close and open it :(

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Wow, LOVED the visual style, and the audio was really great. I think you're really onto something here. If the gameplay was a bit more polished, I can definitely see this being a big hit! I really hope to see you do more with this!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Nice little FPS. Works great on OSX on Chrome. I like the monsters.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

HAHA. The sound effects are awesome.

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:52am

Whoa open the door die instantly that was scary haha! Music was great and thanks for doing procedural generation, my favourite topic :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Hi. Great job for limited time, restarts always tough. The look is great. Like the SFX also.

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:09pm

The humor was awesome. Very impressive!

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20pm

The game is kinda scary with the flashlight disabled :|

rincewind_cz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Bit laggy on linux. Gameplay is like good old wolf3D, but mouse destroys that feeling for me.. Anyway good job. :-)

JokerDen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:26am

Is it your voice? So sweet, i like it and the sound. Creatures are funny.

Shigor says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

@JokerDen: yeah, all sounds are made by my mouth or by various items I found on my table being banged together or against the table (well except the ammo pickup sound which is a sound of my beretta storm being cocked)

vilya says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:42pm

There's quite a lot there, all things considered. Great job! There are still a few bugs: once I died for no reason I could discern; and the "restart from save" option probably shouldn't be there if you don't have a saved game. But those are forgivable, because it's quite good fun!

taocayo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:02pm

This is crazy! I love it. We were laughing on every room we played. The style is very coherent on every aspect.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]