Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spiel-Flache

by omaha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A quick adventure with our friend the Quadropus.

Spacebar to thrust
Left/Right to steer your tentacles

Source Code here: http://whilesoftware.com/static/spiel-flache/ld29.compo-source.tgz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#95Mood3.77
#179Audio3.43
#288Graphics3.61
#444Theme3.39
#603Overall3.14
#757Innovation2.79
#1058Fun2.39

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

This reminded me a lot of Solar Jetman (NES game). Nice colors and atmosphere!

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

very interesting. I like the music, gave it an almost ominous feel. the sounds were really good.

Galvus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Heya, it was all black when I tried to play. Maybe a bug?

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Very nice atmosphere. Playing this game is very calming.

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Great job on the game! Loved the lighting and particle effects, as well as the change in the background color. Overall the game was really just peaceful and exploring, and the music really set the audio. The control was a little weird and difficult at times. Good job!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

Really good atmosphere, good job!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

Great lighting and controls

NPException says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

I really like the graphics of the game, nice job!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Missing a bit of the gameplay elements.. maybe make the walls/edges dangerous, and give some use to picking up the cubes :) but it feels very relaxing to fly around!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

Wow very peaceful, loved the colors and the control scheme was very unique and cool :)

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice visuals. Controls were hard to figure out at first, but then I found a scheme that worked well.
it would be nice if the game had a goal and were more lengthy.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:30am

Very good atmosphere.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Very nice graphics and mood. However the gameplay lacks innovation and was quite boring.
Same concept would have been more interesting if it transported some sort of story.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:06am

Hi!
My humble cents:
- Great atmosphere, you know it. Sound, ambient. All nailed up (game jam wisely)
- While the "ball and chain" with a motor mechanic is quite fustrating, it's an interesting new way to think about movement and how physics can affect it, so while i think it was not really implemented in a way that made any sense during gameplay, it was a nice idea and could easily be used under different circumstances.

The game came out without much of a objective, but you've created something that will certainly inspire other devs here and, hopefully, yourself. Nice job :)

ninjascript says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very atmospheric.

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Like piloting a drunken jellyfish? Short, but the colors and sounds are very pleasing. Kind of calming.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]