Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mind your Body

by Meedoc - Jam Entry

Gameplay:

Your avatar is attracted by the yellow sphere. You play its mind, and you have two actions in your possession:
- say NO to one of its choice and offer another direction to move to
- say WAIT to force it to, well, wait a few seconds.

To play, you have to actually type the words once the avatar has taken its own decision.

Have fun! Or not...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#143Innovation(Jam)3.55
#589Humor(Jam)1.95
#637Audio(Jam)1.89
#666Overall(Jam)2.58
#679Fun(Jam)2.24
#714Mood(Jam)2.07
#722Theme(Jam)2.03
#752Graphics(Jam)1.86

Comments

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Apparently I don't type very fast. Interesting idea.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I like how you type things to do stuff. Nice work.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I don't get it :(

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Seems like you have to be a speed typist to be good at this game. Interesting concept :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

this was pretty fun, great job. I was struggling to get the little cube not to move away from the goal which was surprisingly fun. Well done :)

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49am

I got it, nice! But I suck at typing :)

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23am

Dude, this is weird! (mine too) :) I'm not sure I get the link with the theme though...?

Meedoc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

Thanks for the feedback! I'll make an easier version with more delay. Unfortunately I'm a fast typer; and nobody tested the game except me ^^'

@Simon
Well, the mind is beneath the flesh, that was my interpretation of "beneath the surface".
Initially I planned to set the game with floors and traps to have a 2nd meaning but lack of time you know :)

@legendpaul

What didn't you get? The how to play?

Capitals says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Cool Idea, I just could not type fast enough.

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:21pm

awesome idea, awesome game ! a little bit hard at the beginning for someone who's not used to write in english.. maybe a choice of the difficulty with more or less delay could be nice :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Strange little game. I like the typing mechanic, you have to type so quickly that it really draws you in. Goals could be a little more clear though, and I wish there was music.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Interesting concept but the text leaves too quickly.

cr2crstudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:08am

Cool idea. Could be interesting to just have your player flying around as you type commands. :)

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really cool idea. I'll have to practice my typing skills though. :D

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

This would be a nice concept if there wasn't that arbitrary time limit on typing; apparently you have to type at like 1000 words per minute in order to play? I'm a pretty fast typist, but the requirements for this game seem to be inhuman. Perhaps you made the mistake of tieing the timer to the frame rate rather than actual time?

TobiasW says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I'll be frank: This was a bit frustrating for me. The text vanishes so fast, and especially at the beginning I was missing clear feedback about whether what I did worked or not. It would've probably helped a lot if you had different levels of difficulty for people who don't have your typing speed - or, well, who are just beginners in your game.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice idea. I enjoyed it. The sounds are funny. It could use some instructions on the title screen because I always skip the description on each submission page :)

kristof says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Interesting. An easy mode for us slower typists would have been great ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]