Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Launched a Probe!

by daredevildave - Jam Entry

This is probably the most ridiculous game I've ever made!

Control a space probe by writing javascript programs to read sensor data and direct the engines. Scan planets to gain science. Try not to run out of energy or crash into a planet.

Your probe has 3 CPUs, one for targeting, one for navigation and one for the scanner. Write javascript programs in the in-game editor and upload to the probe.

There's a whole load of documentation here to help you with the programming. https://bitbucket.org/dave_e/they_launched_a_probe/

I suspect this won't get too many plays, but I really enjoyed making it, and I'm going to keep working on it. :-D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.44
#264Fun(Jam)3.18
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#394Overall(Jam)3.17
#514Graphics(Jam)3.00
#633Theme(Jam)2.53
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

It's a bit hard when you don't know the language but i will try to learn it ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Really cool concept, even though not as accessible as others. But that doesn't matter, all developers will love playing around with this! Good job.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02am

Had this been in C#, I could see how this would have been interesting for me. Overall, had I known Java, this would be an interesting way of doing things.

calrk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:24am

this looks awesome. definitely playing it next weekend

Nezzhil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37am

Cool concept but it's too fast if you aren't a programmer.

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:47pm

This is crazy impressive! Collecting the science was super satisfying and really not all that hard/that much code. There is just that initial difficulty curve that needs to get addressed. If the player diligently reads the bitbucket guide that helps, but all that info needs to be in game somehow.

Some ideas:
Introducing the three systems one at a time. Also giving more feedback on screen. Uncommenting the debug info works right now, but maybe that should happen by default when you open the code menu (like the colored thrust/velocity info do - label those?).
Flashing out of energy and displaying text if it remains drained for a while - "you can access how much energy you have left by using input.systems.energy".
A reset all script button.
Control+s saves.

ovenchips says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Awesome. Very original use of PlayCanvas.

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Took me way too long to create a somewhat working solution, which probably only works for the specific planet I was trying to scan (lightest planet the probe could find) and only when starting from the specific position it always started from :D. Even made a gif out of it https://www.dropbox.com/s/7x6lgieefsj930z/spaaaaceeeee.gif (I don't think dropbox plays it in the preview though)! The gif also shows a few bugs, namely velocity vector not disappearing after closing the code-editor, science meter going haywire. I also liked that accidentally leaving the page (happened a few times with backspace) didn't erase your progress!

Really interesting concept and execution, even if it isn't the most accessible game out there like others have mentioned. Had been putting it off for a few days because the starting curve was somewhat steep, but I'm glad I decided to give it a go in the end :).

PlayCanvas also seems really interesting, I wonder why I haven't run into it before.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]