Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tunnel Defense

by steve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I sadly ran out of time on this one, some of what I wanted to do is there however, unfortunately I had pretty much zero time to balance, so it's a bit all over the place.

The game is something of a mash-up of digging and tower defense; dig down and collect resources making a trail for the creeps to follow, then sprinkle with turrets liberally.

Try not to wall yourself in, as the creeps love to break walls (and your turrets) if you give them the need to!

Use the arrow keys, or WASD to move and aim the player; Z to jump; X to dig (you need to push in the direction you wish to dig); and C to drop a turret.

(update: I've added a post-compo version with a few gameplay tweaks)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#50Overall3.94
#60Fun3.85
#98Theme3.88
#133Innovation3.76
#139Graphics3.91
#483Mood3.06
#515Audio2.84
#838Humor2.04

Comments

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

A pretty interesting take on the tower defence genre. I'd love to see the game in a more complete state since it feels there's plenty of potential in the idea! Figuring out a good tactic was interesting but it got a little shallow after a while. Nevertheless, it was fun while it lasted.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

This game is the most tragic I've played yet - beautiful graphics and a really nice little dig/build concept that really needs fleshing out; I hope to see a post-compo version. As it is it's not a fantastic game but there's a lot of potential and compared to most of the other games very little in the way of tweaks that would need to be made

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

This game is the most hours I've played. It is very addictive.

+1 @Jack "I hope to see a post-compo version"

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

very good game, very interesting concept and much fun! well done! could be a bit more forgiving though ;)

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

This game has a lot of potential. I really enjoy the combined concept of digging and tower defense. And the graphics are just gorgeous. With some sounds/music, and a bit more fleshing out of the gameplay, I think you could really be onto something. Great work!

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Took me a while to get the hang of it! Was really cool.

Logan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

What an intense feeling! I loved the mix of running for your life while trying desperately to come up with a good defense tactic.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Very interesting idea I really liked your work. Nice job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

a true fun, addictive game .

Zolkren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Cool idea.

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

WOW Really good! One of the best compo games I've seen. Keep up the good work on this, maybe you'll see a big relese for it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice game but it is little hard, I will try to play it more

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

This is awesome - just my kinda game. :) Superhard, but I'll have a go with the post-compo version. The sentries need to be a bit beefier. Well done!!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Cool game, the art style was very nice too.

davidB says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:54am

unplayable on azerty keyboard, change to qwerty layout has no effect :-(

elefantopia says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Platformer tower defense, promising concept but needs balancing.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Lode Runner Tower Defense! Nice ideas. Great sound and graphics. Perhaps add a timer, score, or depth indicator so I can compare how I did this game versus last.
I played this game many times and I'm leaving it installed on my PC!

May 17, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Super super nice wonderful, just needs some balancing (I've only played the compo version, not the post). But a lot of fun, and a good idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]