Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Billy Bigdigger

by 01101101 - Jam Entry

The rats have taken the gold of your people.
You are sent into the tunnels under the enemies' feet in the hope that you will arrive undetected to the treasure.
Use the map (SPACE then RIGHT) and the sounds of the surface to locate the exact spot.
You may also place beacons (SPACE then LEFT) to mark specific points that might help you.
When you think you are in position, dig up (SPACE then UP) to find out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#7Theme(Jam)4.21
#26Audio(Jam)4.12
#74Innovation(Jam)3.76
#86Graphics(Jam)4.23
#101Humor(Jam)3.49
#110Overall(Jam)3.65
#132Mood(Jam)3.63
#300Fun(Jam)3.12

Comments

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13am

Nice art and audio, this game has potential, however I didn't find it all that fun to play mainly because of the way the controls were mapped out, it felt very awkward to me.

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

This is a fantastic take on the theme. I liked the sound effects and the art style. Great work!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52am

Loved it ! Great art and music (loved the mix of well known musical theme at the beginning !).
Gameplay is a bit disturbing at first, but it works really well after a few seconds.
Well done !

billhung says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:20am

a bit too difficult for me, died so many times. And when I died and click the map, I couldn't restart without reloading the page.

01101101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Thanks everyone!

@billhung: You can close the map with SPACE, just like you do in-game. Sorry, we should have added a "close" button or something.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Very nice, the most complete game I've seen so far.

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:55am

Really excellent game! Graphics were awesome, audio is fantastic, and although I didn't catch on until my second playthrough, I was able to complete all three levels with ease. Navigating was challenging, but very easy to figure out at the same time. Great job!

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13am

very funny, introduction is excellent !

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:55am

It is pretty awesome, great graphics , music, and sound effects, semi-retro gameplay is done perfectly in this game, didn't finish it tho, bad at maze-style games xD. Good Job :D!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:30am

Really like this game. Nice graphics and the menu works fine and the humor is good.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:13am

This is a great entry. The art, the audio, the gameplay... nothing was left behind.

5 stars, good job

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:00am

Love how the camera works. Looks great. Fun to play.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:27pm

It's a shame that the game doesn't randomly generate more levels, you'd have nearly complete product right here! Also, was that dynamite that you could plant with the left option?

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:53am

GREAT game! Awesome package of graphics and good controls, and fun audio. I love it!

May 4, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Awesome graphics, mechanic and sound. Great job. :)

01101101 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Thanks everyone! :)
@Make A Game: no these are beacons, you can place them to help orientate yourself around the tunnels.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:37pm

This was a great game with awesome sound and graphics! A pity there were only three levels - this is the type of game that would really benefit from random generation. Good job! :)

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:10am

Amazing graphics/audio/mood, solid gameplay. Very impressive and a very good take on the theme.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:59am

Cool drawings and music. Really well done. Nice idea. It took me three attempts to figure out how it is meant. After this it was easy. I didn't see too much difficulty difference in the levels, and wished more levels, but really good entry.

NicoM says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

Gorgeous cutscene art, and interesting gameplay:) (was it felt markers and watercolor?, thats what it looked like to me:))

01101101 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:06am

Thanks guys! We would have added random generation for maps but were not sure we'd have the time so we settled for hand-designed ones.
@NicoM: watercolor yes: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/26/the-artist-is-in-the-house-progress-report/

Titi_Alone says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I like the intro and the music.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]