Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Bat

by madmaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***************
YOU NEED HEADPHONES to play this game.
***************

Fend off the creeps in the darkness beneath the surface world.

The practice mode can be played without headphones, it's not much fun though.

Uses the web audio API, so it's all HTML5. Downsides are it only works on Chrome, Android Chrome, Mobile Safari, and maybe Safari (untested). Definitely doesn't work on FireFox or IE.

If you're on an iPad 2+ or an iPhone 4+ or a very late-model Android device you can enable the "compass mode", which means you need to stand up and turn around to aim your gun. Try to avoid switching device orientations when you do this as that seems to break the compass detection code. If you leave it disabled, you can turn using a drag gesture (tap always fires).

Post jam update fixes an issue on iOS with the sound slowly disappearing, makes the monsters get faster over time, and adds some more info to the various menu items.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#9Innovation4.45
#62Audio3.77
#381Overall3.35
#449Mood3.11
#558Fun3.00
#793Theme2.97
#902Graphics2.62
#922Humor1.91

Comments

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

Really interesting idea! :D

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

Innovative concept. Glad to see something like this can happen within 48 hours. Very motivating.
I'd love to see a 180 degress version, since it is pretty hard to eastimate if the enemy is in front or behind you.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

Really digging the idea! Good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice, but it is difficult to understand whether a creep is in front of you or behind you. Especially when there are many creeps on the field. Also, it would be nice to be able to move.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Wow thats hard, awesome idea though

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Really cool, and a bit disorientating! My one gripe is that I would have liked to have a time limit.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Innovative and different.
It felt good to hit an enemy on the first try. I do wonder if the player can exploit the game by continually rotating a little bit, then shooting, though.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Great video game for the blind !

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

As far as I could tell, the 3D audio in WebKit does nothing, so I had to hack my own implementation in. If it did work, front and back audio would sound different through some mathy magic, as it stands, you can work it out by turning a bit.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Took me a long time to figure out how to rotate. Would be nice if the controls were described somewhere.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice concept! It works great on opera 20 :D

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Nice and interesting. Effectively done and really sets the creepy mood. As it is, I would have liked "turn and fire randomly" to be less effective of a strategy, either through things you need to not shoot, or limited bullets, or something.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37am

This is fantastic!

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

The game is good, however I was stuck at the beginning with no idea what I was doing...

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

This is a really interesting idea, and you executed well. It seems like rotating a bit and shooting works for a good while. But once I got to near the 100 second mark, I found that actually listening was affective. Really enjoyed it.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Fantastic concept! Really hard but really enjoyable! My ears hurt

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:06am

Hi. Nice sounding ships, couldn't get the hang of audio-only play mode!

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Impressive concept!

alexdantas says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:51am

The idea was awesome, even though it's very hard.
Hey, at least you warned me about the requirement of headphones...

f7f5 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Very good concept, just a pity you couldn't get the 3D sound concept working. I enjoyed playing it a lot, but it can get really confusing quicky, when many different enemies are on the field.

Btw, it works great on Chrome, but just crashed at some point on Firefox (linux).

Vandash says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:34am

Super nice idea - really hard though! Perhaps the bullets could change pitch or something the closer they are to an enemy?

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Neat concept. The audio only mode was difficult / not as fun (even with headphones). It would be nice if there was an easier way to rotate while still being able to fire.

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:07am

Nice clean graphics. Its a good idea, but the controls were not smooth.

Jacic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great idea, quite difficult! :)

madmaw says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:14am

It's designed for mobile, so the desktop controls are a little neglected. In hindsight, allowing people to use the left and right keys to rotate probably would have been a good idea. If you are playing on the mobile, try out the compass mode as that's a much better way of turning than the drag gesture.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]