Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Food's above & Danger Beneath the Surface!

by DavidErosa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "Food's above & Danger Beneath the Surface!" you are a spider in care of it's eggs. Beware! Your energy will decrease and the only way to recover is going out and eating something.

Be careful, because ants will appear to try to steal your eggs!

Be a good mother an take care of them until they hatch!

CONTROLS
Cursor Keys/Gamepad: Move
M or Gamepad A: Attack/Go out
N or Gamepad B: Hide

HOW TO PLAY
- Watch out for the eggs.
- When there are ants around, your spider-sense will buzz :)
- Kill the ants with 'M'/Gamepad A
- When energy is low, go out. Press M/Gamepad A when close enough to the exit.
- Learn the different sounds, they correspond to predators or victims.
- When outside, 'M'/Gamepad A to attack/eat. 'N'/GamePad B got get back inside.
- The eggs will hatch, be patience :)

RANDOM STUFF
This is my 7th Ludum Dare and this was the only one I didn't though I'd finish! I had a really bad time sometimes... But as always, it was worth it :)

EDIT: Fixed a button in main menu that took you to the help page instead of credits.
EDIT #2: The gameplay it's about 2 minutes long in total, so please be patience until things start to happen :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#435Audio2.95
#449Humor2.58
#450Innovation3.21
#473Theme3.35
#600Graphics3.11
#639Mood2.90
#717Overall3.00
#832Fun2.71

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Clever use of the theme!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Very fun game. I loved crushing the little ants.

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Pretty cool, just didn't find it very engaging. Nice work though :)

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

"It's hard living... beneath the surface" xD

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Took me some time to get used to the life of an spider. I should probably learn to read the How to Plays before starting a game. :D

Overall a nice management type game and a clever use of theme.

Glint Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

Nice little game, very innovative, really got me into the mindset of what it is like to be a spider :)

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Great game, I really liked the art style

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

The controls are weird, specially above the ground. Cool audio and graphics

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

I was very surprised to see big snake O_o

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Got 9/10
Was fun to play with a xbox controller! I have not much to complain about. Keep improving your pixel art and add more variety to gameplay. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Well done, I never thought spiders have such a hard time :D

Nice music and pacing of the actions. Once you learn the controls, going to the surface is a good exercise of reflexes. But somehow, those ants always take my eggs! Bah, take them! I'll create even more!

JoshOS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Unexpected style of game, not bad! Good use of theme and the art&sound remind of those olden handheld gaming things you used to get which only had one game on, typically in Black and white.

The gameplay I found a little awkward but I got the hang of it. I feel the spider dies too quickly though, I had a case where an entire spider's life went, the only things appearing above ground were snakes or nothing. That, or I went to check on the eggs at the wrong time.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Interesting concept. Good job

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:34am

Fun game, I enjoyed protecting the eggs.

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:03pm

fun game. nice job.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:53am

Very enjoyable and super cute game! Learning curve was a little high, but after a few mistakes it became clear what had to be done!

rojo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice simple entry. Smooshing ants felt pretty good.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Very cute game. I like the graphical style and choice of colors! It took me some time to understand the game mechanics. But then I had some fun. Nice work!

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Interesting mechanics, especially listening to things outside the exit. My only complaints are that it was too easy, and I wasn't sure what to do at first.

May 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Fun game! Nice graphics and mood. I felt like a doting mother checking everything back and forth. ;)

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I saved 6/10 spiders! I look like a caring mother! Well, I played through once. I like the basic concept of being a spider in a den. The game was a bit easy/simple though. Basically I would just go left, eat one ant outside, return, fight of the ants inside, and repeat. Nothing really changed. I see in your screenshot there is a picture of a snake, but I never encountered a snake. I just went back and forth 4 times without challenge and then my babies hatched. I would like more challenge for sure to keep interested. I enjoyed the graphics, and while I normally can't stand to look at spiders, the main spider is actually kind of cute when she walks.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]