Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reaper

by LastResortGames - Jam Entry

****WARNING: TO PLAY:**************
I added in a windows version (4/29). Please try this one first.

-----------------------------
Apparently both flash versions just came out terribly.You can try them if you want. But the Windows version should have a reasonable experience.
-----------------------------
Flash Version: Just links directly to it in a browser.
-----------------------------
Kongregate: Play in Cinematic mode. Unfortunately you need an account for this.
****************
WASD: Move Around
Tab: Scan people
Spacebar: Kill Target.
------------------------------
You are a Reaper. There are some people who have sold their soul and have not quite paid up just yet. Your job is to retrieve their souls. But be careful there are also demons about that can make a lot of money off of a dead Reaper.
------------------------------
I tried Haxeflixel for the first time this weekend and it certainly shows. I am very glad I did though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#291Audio(Jam)3.23
#305Innovation(Jam)3.16
#464Humor(Jam)2.33
#515Fun(Jam)2.73
#561Mood(Jam)2.73
#565Theme(Jam)2.71
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#701Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

The concept is really cool, but I found the tank controls to be awkward, making stages a little harder than need-be. Having a swing to your weapon instead of a stab would be both a little easier to use, and more thematically appropriate for a reaper~

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

I love the sound track It seems however that I'm stuck on level 2, or at least the "payment received" did not disappear.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59am

Good concept, few little bits, the buttons were not entirely clickable, and if you scan while walking into a solid block the radar just keeps on travelling and isn't fixed to the player!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Awesome concept. Controls need some work though

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Very nice music and concept. The game was fun to play.

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Really interesting game, I enjoyed it! It was a little difficult to control and the feedback to the player was a little hard to understand, but I think it could be polished up really nicely.

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Agree with GrooveMan that the tank controls didn't seem appropriate. Nice game, though :) I felt that the scanning was a bit too easy, given the warning - maybe they should only be coloured while you scan them?

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Nice concept :)

Brick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Nice concept, it was fun once I figured out I had to scan. :P The graphics and controls could be improved.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:20am

flash version doesnt seem to want to run :(

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Good concept, pretty nice visuals!

malmazuke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Great idea, and fun. I felt the controls let it down a little bit

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Why did I keep dying?

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:03am

Surprisingly fun once I figured out how the game worked. It's a shame that the people tend to cluster up a little, making it difficult or impossible to hit a single target.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Bugged on level 2. Cool concept, but I think you should iterate more on controls and check for more bugs next time.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]