Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

From under the snow

by madflame991 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After the great war the few survivors retreated underground. Today however you pick something on the radio, other than eternal silence.

Pick up your gear and head out. Remember to pack equipment and don't forget the batteries!

Hints:
+ Some items need to be powered by batteries
+ You power the drill and the radx by placing them on the floor (not snow - hey, your hands are freezing!) and using a battery on them
+ Powered radx removes radiation and the drill is useful to remove what a pickaxe can't


Made in the Furnace Engine. To see the source and even recompile the game hit the Edit button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#592Graphics3.12
#623Theme3.19
#801Mood2.71
#933Innovation2.56
#999Overall2.71
#1019Fun2.44

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice one! I really love the graphics of your game, that pixel art looks good! ;) The gameplay is good and very enjoyable!

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Is the hero is naked ?

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

The engine looks pretty well made, but I got confused really quickly. I couldn't get past the snow and nothing in my inventory seemed to help. Also, when I tried mining and hit or, it said I needed a drill. I though I had one, but couldn't figure out how to use it.

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice little game, looking through the source was extremely interesting too, didn't understand much. :P

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Had an old school RPG feel about it which I love.

Only issue I had was that I couldn't find anywhere that described what each item did.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice art, and an interesting thing. Near enough incomprehensible though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Like the visuals but didn't really understand what the items were or what to do with them. Did enjoy exploring around though and trying to figure out what was going on.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Nice old-school graphics. Had some difficulties figuring out how to play. A little more in-game hints/help would solve that!

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:32pm

It wasn't clear to me that I won when I got to the stash.
I wasn't able to find any water bottles, so I thought I still had to do something to give it to Mr. White... But since I had already dug my way around the door, I had actually reached the end...

Nice game. :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Neat and funny!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:36am

Atari style on the pixels.
Nice to see that I think..

Also a nice touch with the open source-like engine!

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Nice visual style, but I agree that it was a bit confusing. Some hints and/or a tutorial would elevate the game greatly.

tomvert says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:11am

A quite interesting game, I like how I had to guess the story.
It would be nice to have description and info about the thing inside your inventory.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:39pm

really lovely colours and sprites

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:46am

How do I progress after picking up an item? The game seemingly stops.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Nice minimalist gameplay concept.

klianc09 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Thank you for making that insructions sheet, as I would be utterly lost without it. It was really interesting and fun discovering the world, but there is some room for improvement:

-Working with the drill and the radx is quite cumbersome, I feel like it should just use up a battery from the inventory, rather than having to refill it after every use.
-The radiated snow is hardly distinguishable from the normal snow, which got me killed a lot of times until I realized that there are those two snow types.
-I feel like the old man shouldn't give you a key to a door you can dig around, but rather give you the drill, so that you can't reach the end without helping the old man.
-Why do bugs always damage you when you kill them? Seems a bit unintuitive and restricts you to only killing two bugs. (Except if there is a way to heal yourself, which I didn't find)

Overall I really liked it, and would definitely play a more polished version. Good job!

@ActionRemix: the game doesn't seem to work in firefox, try using chrome

CodeNMore says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I like the simple-old looks to this game, though I wish you could just hold the arrow keys to move, anyways, fun!

increpare says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:29am

interesting engine! i like the graphics. hard to tell what the various items are without your reference image.

madflame991 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:25pm

@all Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that the cheat-sheet/infographic shed a bit of light. In the future I'll try to come up with something easier to pick up.

@increpare Thank you for your comment, your games and PS!

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice Atari-esque graphics and an old-school adventure RPG feel that I really like. I goofed a bit and thought that the locked door was some kind of indestructible boulder, so I drilled past it instead rather than using the key in my inventory. Yay, alternative solutions! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]