Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Something Fishy

by StabAlarash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to survive this rough ecosystem that is ocean. You smell something fishy is going on.

Controls: Up & Down Arrow keys, double tap those same keys to dash.

Eat the fish to refill your health but be carefull what you eat...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#217Graphics3.75
#298Mood3.31
#364Theme3.47
#459Overall3.27
#463Humor2.56
#472Audio2.89
#535Fun3.04
#896Innovation2.61

Comments

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27am

Good fun! Good job!

lkpridgeon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28am

Looks and feels Great

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Looks amazing, fun to play!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

Enjoyed this a lot. Nice graphics, funny. :)

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

I love the crepuscular rays!! Good work!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

Simple concept but perfectly executed. Graphics are also great

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

Good job. The fish movement was the first one that ever actually "nailed it" when it comes to navigating a fish. Good job

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49am

Poor fish :D So much radioactive shit. Great entry!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Really cool.
That is a lot of toxic waste! I lasted 100 seconds. :x

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Lovely graphical style

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Nice game, although one of the most depressing LD entries I've played... Art style is great, sound and mechanics - top notch!

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

The gameplay is too basic to me. Also how are you supposed to dodge barrels? They seem to do damage to you anyway. Either via direct hits, or via toxic waste. Also i dont know why, bu i like how the game look, despite not having much going on on screen :)

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Look very good. Fun to play :)

myachin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

154s!

Nice

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Our games share the same name. I like mine more but yours is nice too ;)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice job! Loved the 'sunbeams' and I liked that things got harder over time. Good use of sound as well.

mogwai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Sweet game and it has godrays! :) Ramps up in difficulty pretty fast though.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice that the game gets harder with time. Would be nice with a visible timer for how long you have survived. Liked the use of poison. Audio was hard to hear most of the time. Controls were a bit unresponsive, this might have been a theme you were going for to match it with the fish but in that case you should make it more clear exactly why it is happening.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I like the 2.5D visuals: 2D graphics and 3D background. You should have added more stuff to it! Love it overall :)

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Great artwork!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Great game. Very polished and complete and fun. Nice work on the art too. My highest rating so far for this one.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Love the art!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I can only think of Donkey Kong Country while playing this. DK has ruined swordfish for me forever!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02am

Great job! Love the art. Simple but excellently implemented game play. The fishy movements really added to the atmosphere.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53am

Damn son... u don't try to fish me! I rip that puny line of yours.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

Loved this. Great movement and controls. Really felt snappy and fun to move around. Great art and sounds. Lotta fun.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Simple and straight to the point. I love the fact that you can get caught. I actually got caught after 10 seconds on my first try because I swam close to the surface :P - Managed to get a bit over 100 seconds. I liked the graphics, and the game was fun and the controls were just right. Good job.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Very good game! It has an important message wrapped in a playful experience.

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

nice barrelphysics

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I liked the graphics and sound. I would maybe show the survival timer ticking up while you are playing to reinforce it as a scoring mechanic to keep people going. It was fun to play.

I would try adding a right arrow key double tap to do a short thrust forward, it would make lining up with the fish and then right double tapping into them to lunge forward to 'spear' them a satisfying mechanic.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

nice simple concept ..works well.. and clean gfx :)

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Very well polished! Altough quite simple, it's really fun and kept me to a point where I couldn't find any more fish...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:52pm

love the ambience!

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:58pm

loved everything about this. great graphics, fun game.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice gameplay, smooth controls, polished and cool. Very environment-friendly ;)

May 4, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Graphics were really good

GFM says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:49am

The concept is really interesting. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]