Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

COVERUP

by SFBTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just another day in the small Arizona town of Jenton. Or is it? Unbeknownst to the public, forces from another world move among them, bent on... well, it's better you don't know.

Agent Smith and Agent Lee-Jones are here to track down these forces and to make sure the masses never know what's going on right in front of them...

Click an agent to select, pick a blue spot to move to! Then if you're next to someone, click your agent again to select, then click the person to scan them for extra-terrestrial life!

**There are 2 aliens to be found, you won't win until you find the second one!**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#304Audio3.16
#333Innovation3.39
#382Humor2.71
#489Graphics3.26
#554Theme3.27
#564Overall3.18
#801Mood2.71
#807Fun2.74

Comments

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

Very original design.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Something is strangely satisfying about the enemy character movement (don't question why it just is), but I'm not really sure how to win, I found an alien, but nothing happened? Do I need to find more?

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

I loved the graphics and character movement! I was unclear about what to do when I found an alien at first (just let it run around?). I am also still unclear on how I could lose.

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Love it! I would play a game like this on the bus.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

That's nice.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

Great game. Also as3sfxr is very dear to me. Thanks for making it :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

The music is perfect! Turned out to be way harder than I thought, but I stuck it out and found both aliens :D

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Probably one of my favourites so far. Involves a bit of memory, which is cool. I like

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

It's a cool idea. It could use a bit more challenge, but overall I like it!

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

Good pathfinding. I like the sprite art too.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

Solid idea! Great execution. Good job, really nailed the mood.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Nice game, and idea!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

Pretty intuitive; reminded me of the classic coconut shuffling game. Except... every person is a coconut! Thought I had to chase the aliens down, but figured out there were 2 soon enough.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

I like the concept!

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

Excellent game!

Fresh concept! Aesthetic was consistent and strong. Gameplay was responsive and intuitive. Didn't take me long to figure out what to do and won the game fairly quickly (which I enjoyed). After winning I had a strong sense of achievement.

Well done.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

Cool gameplay!

ahmeni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57am

Something about this clicks my buttons. I like.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

Cute game, a little bit annoying music, and creative mechanic that's like a shell game with a lot of shells. The guys in the suits probably want to keep tabs on everyone so they don't have to go through this hassle. :P

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Don't know what I was doing, but it was fun :)

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

has a cool vibe to it. the music contributes a lot to that

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Cool idea! it was fun, loved the music and graphics

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Well, original interpretation.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

cool music/artwork. the game has potential

shadow64 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

Thanks for playing my game and commenting! I like the "YOUR TURN" "THEIR TURN" moments and them sort of stomping around. I think it's fun.

The music is okay, but the frequency of all the instruments was a little sharp/harsh.

I think the game is a little hard since it's not just about finding the aliens but ALSO kind of a memory match game. I think you could go two ways with this:

I think you could keep it to a memory match game, but remove the movement aspect, but that seems boring.

My other idea is to limit the number of turns and add some color when you find out someone is definitely human.

I know I'm probably just not very good at it, but I think after a few minutes most people are just going to resort to guessing and then stop if they don't find the second alien soon enough.

Overall it was fun, though and I'm glad you made it. Especially since it's not just a subterranean game. Way to take a different angle on the theme! :D

jomomomo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

Wow, that was a lot of fun. Thanks for making it. At first I thought, geeze, it sure would help if when I scanned them I could tag them too -- but that's the whole point of the game, stretching your brain a little bit to try to remember which ones you've scanned or not. Good job!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Really neat idea and execution! Turn based was a nice touch.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

pretty solid game and DAY OF THE TENTACLE! :D

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Oh man. I was worried they were going to start running off the screen.

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I win! It's awesome when you figure out a strategy to remember them. Very cool game idea! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really awesome pixel art and audio. The AI is pretty awesome too. Great job.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

What a very strange game! I enjoyed the sound effects and the graphics! Funny game. Is there a way to lose?

Brick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Original and the audio/visuals were nice, but it needs some work. Like maybe people get "tagged" or something after you search them? Or maybe a way to lose if a civilian sees an alien?

May 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

great concept and i love the movement of the others :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00am

A nice little game, takes a little bit to get into but once you do it's rather enjoyable to play around in.

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:34am

cool

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:52am

Clever design... For me it was a bit too much "memory tracking" but I like the concept. I just suck at it haha Well done!

mark.goetz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very cool! It's original, fits the theme and has a good feel to it! I do wish there were more of a failure state, but that wasn't enough to ruin it for me.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:44am

interesting idea for the theme - nice gameplay - nice job

Phyyl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:15am

nice concept! I liked what the felling is when you realize you don't have a good memory! haha

May 1, 2014 @ 5:55am

Urgh, so hard! Could be the early morning and sleep deprivation... Anyway a losing condition would be nice, I mostly brute-forced it now. Another thing is that you can't "hold position", so that sometimes you can not scan someone who's standing next to you.

Cool game, very nice graphics!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

Cool! a TBS :)

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:20am

It's Memory, but moving! Nice game.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice concept and I like the art. Will be better with a bit more of a challenge!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:12am

Aaaaah I couldn't find the last one, it took hours and I quit... but that's a nice concept.

InfectionTeam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:49am

Pretty fun trying to remember who you've checked already! Short and easy, but I still thought it was really cool!

Daiwen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:37am

Great game! Great idea! The aliens beat me once though, since you can't pass your turn nor scan if you haven't move i got surrounded and had to reload...

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Very original idea and integration of the theme. :)

berareu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Great idea, reminded me of the game with the three cups! I think it could be expanded even more!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:40pm

very simple, but great well done graphics, music that felt appropriate, and the mechanics work and felt smooth. Good job :)

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

cool

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:33pm

original and fun!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Clever mechanic.

Grafter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Cool game, well done!

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I think this is a great start. It would be awesome if the hidden aliens were dangerous in some way.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Good graphics and audio. I liked the gameplay idea once I understood that it's a memory game, but I think it has room for improvement as there's no danger and no way to lose.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Grat graphics and music!

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:57am

Having played this... I noticed that the agents can at least attempt to scan each other. I think it'd be awesome if occasionally one of the two agents was the second alien!

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:33am

This is good! I think it needs a little bit more depth to really shine, but as it is, it's still a great little memory/strategy game. The graphics are well done, and all the sound effects really seem to fit.

benmcnelly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:17am

Maddeningly fun!

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:31am

Thanks for this one! I really liked the characters.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:59am

A solid turn based framework for a compelling game, but i's not there yet.

There is no interesting payoff linked to the original premise. The aliens just don't do anything for you to have a sense of urgency or danger.

The aliens could do any of the following things, if you let them out of your sight or don't reveal and terminate them fast enough.
-Kill civilians
-Kill agents if threatened enough
-Convert civilians to aliens
-Shapeshift into things (both inanimate and animate objects)
-Destroy/steal property (depending on their precise goals)

These changes would require a bigger map with building and other objects with additional mechanics in order to be effective though.

atombrot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:34am

Very cool idea. The execution of the game is also nicely done. Would have been nice if the "humans" would have distinguishable features. Like this it's quite hard to track wich human you have already scanned. It was quite random for me but never the less fun ;)

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39am

neat little game, but some sort of time limit or "they're spreading" sort of danger would make the game a little more then just brute-forcing your way through.

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:50am

Very cool, I had to tab back to read the instructions at first to figure out what to do. Would be great to see it with some polish and a few more features like a timer or some form of "stress" factor, like the aliens spreading or something.
Nice work though!

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:54am

Very interesting and fun concept, and well executed! Great graphics and audio!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:46am

Interesting take on a memory style game. Nice artwork. Would be cool if the aliens presented a threat to the players in some kind of way. As of right now it just feels like a matter of trial and error before you just outright win. I enjoyed trying the game out. Nice work :)

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:54am

Really great concept, though I ended up scanning people more or less randomly each turn. It could be cool if there were very slight visual variations between the people.

Fasox says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:44am

it got me for a , it only need to change something after found one.

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I like the art and sound, and the idea is fun too, but you need a way to lose.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:02pm

This game is quite challenging and yet super fun. I noticed a bug where you still have to scan already found alien when you happen to move right next to them.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Really clever. It did get a little boring after a while

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:35pm

very complex movement. sound could be a little more varied though .

Zarkith says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:51pm

As far as I can tell there's no way to lose this. Maybe having a set number of turns to find both aliens or they escape or something would have helped make this more fun/replayable.

May 6, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nice take on the theme

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:11am

Great idea and presentation but a bit unsure what to do after I found an Alien.

berryhermans says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:42pm

At first I thought it was a bit silly, because there is no way to lose... and yet I kept playing.

Good job!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Ohh a memory game. This is not my favourite game type, but this one is nicely done although it is strange that I cannot stay where I am and inspect somebody.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Fun, using the 2 agents is nice as you have some ability to divide the groups into the checked people and unchecked people.

May 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

I like it! Good use of theme, good graphics (the movement animation feels like a great speed), and good sounds. I had fun :)

fallingBear says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:24am

Great concept. It's shame that there is no interaction after you find an alien.

May 10, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Interesting! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ARsCeJtTlas

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:33am

Fun game! The music was a little weird, but it complemented the graphics and set the tone. I found one alien, didn't find the other. I was glad to see the 2nd alien wasn't either agents.

harko12 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Neat idea. Kind of an ongoing shell game. Music too loud though :)

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Weird little game. I finally found the two aliens, but the interface was a bit odd. It didn't have enough feedback on the scan turn for me to know I was actually doing anything. In fact, until I revealed the first alien after about 10 turns, I was thinking something was broken.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:12am

Nice job on this! It's refreshing to see a new take on the "memory" genre, and this game pulls it off in a very focused, simple, and fun way. I'm also fairly impressed at how balanced the game is; the number of player units, computer units, and hidden targets (as well as all units' movement ranges) feels *just* right, so the game never gets neither too overwhelming nor too easy. I don't really have much else to say since the game speaks for itself just fine--nice work!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:03pm

This was so funny.
The premise is awesome, and the gameplay was really good!

FrameMatt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The music become repetitive very quickly. But still i love the idea. Pretty fun and balanced.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:47am

Some help would be useful. But the concept is really original, hope you'll develop the game further.

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Pretty clever idea, congrats! The music was pretty cool too.

jorgemoag says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:00am

the question is... any loose condition?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]