Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tokelau

by Chinchilla - Jam Entry

*****Update*****************************

Thanks for all the feedback guys, I've now added a postcompo version which rethinks the economy, and makes the first few levels a little easier. Now, houses no longer produce gold, but when they get fully upgraded, a new villager will come to your island. 1 out of 5 villagers are miners, which decrease the time it takes to dig.

I will probably be making a few more updates, there were plenty of ideas that I didn't have time to implement.

Thanks for playing!

****************************************

An unspeakable horror lives 15 levels beneath the surface. You must kill it to save Tokelau!

WASD to move camera, Scrollwheel changes camera depth

You can earn gold by digging for precious metals and gems, or by building houses

But beware the monsters that lurk below, you will need to build traps to defend your town

Houses generate more gold when are connected by roads, and have trees next to them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#81Theme(Jam)3.78
#128Overall(Jam)3.61
#187Fun(Jam)3.31
#192Mood(Jam)3.47
#216Innovation(Jam)3.35
#272Graphics(Jam)3.63
#347Audio(Jam)3.13
#393Humor(Jam)2.50

Comments

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32am

Nice idea, but it felt unfair because it rewards if you are really patient since gold generation is slow, but safe. But if you go to the depths searching for gold you find skeletons very soon and you are not able to do anything at that point.

Nicely made overall.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Impressive, creating effectively a sort of Dungeon Keeper/Dwarf Fortress-esque idea in such a small time. Starts off a bit slow though with just the one poor guy digging everything :P, but looks gorgeous!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Cool little dungeon crawler! Can't wait to see what you do with it.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

A fantastic concept for a game, but definitely tricky if you dig down too fast!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Hard to understand in start, but i like it!

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57pm

What a game i really enjoy it. Really cool idea, and nice graphics. Good job !

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I have no idea how to I can do something in this game. The controls aren't quite obvious.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Nice idea :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very cool take on the typical mine/digging style games during this competition. Reminds me of Dungeon Keeper. I'd love to see this game expanded upon.

4026 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Some lovely little touches here. I particularly like the gently undulating waves around your town, and the Minecraftian ambient music loop while pottering about your cave, digging up gold.

Crikey, though, those skeletons are tough to stop. And, as rogberth points out, that tends to encourage total inactivity while you wait for your taxes to roll in so you can build more defences. Maybe you need a roguelikey hunger mechanic of some sort to drive people to explore the dungeon? And, er, some more early-game defensive options would be nice...

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:37am

quite impressive entry!

Charimation says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Really quite an impressive game :) I enjoyed playing once I got the hang of things ^^

TeamFlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Fun :)

Cirrial says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:43pm

The post-compo version is a much better approach at the idea, but I must rate the entry a little more mediocre. Still, a great improvement.

Huder says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I liked more compo version with taxes than post-compo, because i don't like digging in games :P sorry. I prefer more automatic income. Do something with trees because they are expensive like houses but have no use.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:14pm

This game is amazing!

I will get it as a personal lesson on how to proper perform on ludum dare. Simple graphics but lot of care on details (smokes, fx, water with sin waves) and deep strategical gameplay.
The amount of skill to assemble such amount of things together is impressive, its a shame that is a jam entry for I would love to see code behind this.

I've been playing it for like 20 minutes till reach something like 60 golds per minute. But then skeletons came and raped my cities haha amazing. I will try the post compo later on. Amazing work, congrats.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:22am

The concept of supporting a village with digging is cool. Unfortunately it seems super slow to dig, especially to dig gold blocks. Also, my gold generation did not seem to increase even when I put trees next to houses.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Unsure what to do. The Dig button seems unresponsive.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very nice entry! I like it. Good job! Would be nice to have keyboard alternative to Scrollwheel.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Neat idea!

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Wow nice game, nice graphics and funny gameplay, I'm a total fun of dungeon keeper, dwarf fortress, those kinds of games, so hope, one day your game will emerge into something of that size :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]