Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digulator

by calrk - Jam Entry

Digulator - The Digging Simulator.

Use the arrow keys to navigate the world, dig through different ground materials to get deep enough to get that sweet sweet diamond.
But watch out, the monsters are not too pleased with you mining their home, and will hunt you.
Some materials take longer than others, so be careful going through the hard stones. Every time you mine a block it becomes easier to mine, so you can create safe paths of sand to mine through faster.

Using WebGL and HTML5 technologies, Digulator should be able to run in any modern browser. However use of custom shaders may stress out some GPUs, so graphics options to turn down the bloom, particles, volumetric lighting and lens flare are included if necessary.

Enjoy!

Creators:
Anthony Foster
James McCormick
Clark Lavery
Damien Gatt
Pyarelal Knowles

*EDIT*
Minor change to the code to allow for click/touch events. This will enable you to play on a WebGL enable mobile device (audio may cause errors still)

For android on my shitty sony phone I needed to enable "Override software rendering list" in chrome://flags

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#142Theme(Jam)3.63
#305Graphics(Jam)3.55
#383Fun(Jam)2.98
#389Humor(Jam)2.52
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#426Audio(Jam)2.93
#466Innovation(Jam)2.78
#543Mood(Jam)2.76

Comments

capnramses says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

wow that's a lot of bling and juice! i really like the tree smashing. graphics are great in general - you did that in a couple of days? nice. the gameplay is limited, especially the win conditions...i felt like there could have been something more interesting there but whatever - excellent work!

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Yep, mostly done in two days with a little on the 3rd (eg. win condition :P). We definitely should have made the trees part of the game mechanic :D

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Other than the webplayer is lagging a bit, it is great :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Impressed with how much you got done in the time and liked the way you used the sound on game over. Only issue I had was that the page would reload everytime I restarted.

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

The graphics are great! I don't like how restarting reloads the entire page/game, but I had fun with this.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:04am

Lovely visuals!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25am

Love the graphics, and it's fun to play too. A bit frustrating when you're first figuring things out, but I got the hang of it.

Loneshark says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57am

This is a pretty sweet game! I was trying to find ways to get ALL THE GOLD (and diamonds).

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54am

Wow, really nice presentation!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47am

Good use of sound. I liked the effects you used. Nice work.

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:33am

The individual graphics look really nice, but they didn't combine well. I feel like you need some kind of digging effect, maybe a 2d animation and/or particles. Just bouncing around didn't say "digging" as much as it said "broken" to me.

capnramses says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:19am

meant to ask - intentional similarity to Digger? http://youtu.be/RKn2PQGydYY

calrk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:45am

Hmm its not intentionally similar to any other game. We based it a bit off games like minecraft and terraria, having voxel grid based world, but with different gameplay style.

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Whoa, this is flashy. I turned off bloom and volumetrics and it ran fine. I like that spinning thing that happens when you get monstered.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:25am

Nice game, but I got caught pretty easily.:D It plays a bit slow, maybe a turn based gameplay would be better, but otherwise it's fun.

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:44am

Fantastic visuals and audio, controls need more polishing, but I have a blast playing it.

Nizar89 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:05am

There is maybe too much ennemy, I felt like playing pac-man with 10 ghosts :). But it was fun overwise!

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:36am

This game is pretty well done, I enjoed finding some gold underground

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:00pm

This is great! Had to disable volumetrics/bloom on macbook, but once it was up to speed, there's a nice game here. Could do with at least _some_ restriction on where monsters can move. PS - Best loading screen ever. ;-D

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Good use of vfx!

DarknessFades says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Love graphic and sounds :P But it seams a bit like another Motherload :C

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:31pm

As the others said, flashy, could use a little more game play. I turned off bloom and volumetrics and it was a lot smoother.

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great that you can support different systems. At first I thought I could not play at all, but turning the graphics down let me play quite smoothly.

There is a good bit of cat and mouse gameplay too!

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Performance isn't great (mac book pro), but with all the bells and whistles turned off it ran pretty smoothly. Gameplay is pretty simple -- wish there was a bit more strategy to it (make make it turn based to make up for perf?). You got monstered!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]