Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge of the Kraken

by malmazuke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

REVENGE OF THE KRAKEN

You are the legendary Kraken, hell-bent on destroying mankind - one frigate at a time.

Controls:
WASD - Move the Kraken
Cursor Keys - Move Tentacles
Spacebar - Hold for Boost attack.

Earn points by destroying ships with your tentacles and boost attack. Boost attack gives more points. Larger ships give more points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Theme3.67
#236Innovation3.54
#284Humor2.91
#292Fun3.37
#328Overall3.42
#428Graphics3.35
#505Mood3.04
#691Audio2.51

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Once I figured out the boost, I felt a bit more like the White Whale than a kraken, given the limited functionality of the tentacles, I still enjoyed being so. TORPEDO SQUID.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Nice. The lesser maneuverability felt like it was holding it back some, but when the action is there it's working well.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

Air squid. I must be tired because flopping the tentacles around is hilarious.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

This is dope, I love the feel. I kept wanting W to propel me, and use the A and D to change direction.

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Nice game, I like the idea and it's fun to play with the Kraken. The only thing that needs improvement are the controls, movement of the tentacles seems sometimes too slow. Would be nice if the destroyed ships were dropping small amounts of food or something else to restore health over time.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

That was fun. There's something eerily atmospheric about the silence coupled with cannon fire. Digging the retro graphics too.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

I was thinking of having people come out of the ships as you destroy them, and you eat them for food/health, but ran out of time to implement it! Also, the tentacle movements definitely need some work

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Great job dude!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

10550 points! This was a lot of fun. Also bonus for making a monster game like me. :D

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08am

Took me a while to figure it all out but I like your concept a lot. It's nice to be the bad guy!

shs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08am

I enjoyed the high speed booster squid movements.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Entertaining idea. I really liked that ramming the ships with boost would knock them in the air, and that you can go flying out of the water like some sort of tentacled whale.

The controllable tentacles were a novel concept but didn't seem to add much to the game, since I basically just tried to run into the ships and wave my tentacles around.

I was a little disappointed I couldn't launch myself out of the water and die beached on the shore.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

Loved flying out of the water

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31am

This is amazing XD I never knew how much I wanted to be a Kraken until playing this game. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

I always wanted to be a kraken! :D Great idea.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38am

Very cool game :D

Wuhao says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

great game, we both have the same concept, but yours is more complete. I spend most of my time focus on the tentacles though

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

Dude, your game allowed me to finally become a kraken and destroy ship... Thank you for that. Graphics were great, slappin' the shit out of ships was stupidly fun, and boosting out of the water towards the sky attempting to become an astronaut-kraken made this game amazing! Bookmarked and will probably play everyday for my daily dose of kraken-simulator. Great Job! :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

Dude, your game allowed me to finally become a kraken and destroy ships... Thank you for that. Graphics were great, slappin' the shit out of ships was stupidly fun, and boosting out of the water towards the sky attempting to become an astronaut-kraken made this game amazing! Bookmarked and will probably play everyday for my daily dose of kraken-simulator. Great Job! :)

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

Good idea to control the tentacles to attack.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

This game is sooooo rad!
But I think that boost should always be 100%, because it would make the game feel a lot more fluid. And I just have to ask, how did you do the tentacles?

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21am

I used a whole bunch of Hinge Joint 2Ds - about 10 for each tentacle. There's probably a better way of doing it, but I've only just started using Unity. I think they need a bit of work, or maybe make them a bit longer (or do more damage). They are kinda useful, but not as much of a game mechanic as I originally hoped.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Score:1150

Great game! Loved it! Controls were very intuitive. Great job with the boost, it was a very useful mechanic. Those big ships made me lol really hard. I had a smile and was having alot of fun! GOOD JOB!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Nice game, awesome movement!

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Thanks!
My highest score is 19450 - see if you can beat it
http://i.imgur.com/xb5kD1P.png

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Simple and great!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Nice controls, I felt that certain ships health made you "slam-dunk" and destroy the ships; I very much liked this game.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

Why do I get a QWOP vibe from this? Very amusing fun, well done.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

Pretty fun flopping my tentacles around :D

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

Nice idea! finally got to play a Kraken ! :D

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

I loved the idea of controlling the tentacles Octodad style, even if they weren't the best weapon! Was a lot of fun once I got used to the controls.

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Great controls scheme! It's so much fun boosting around and swinging tentacles like crazy!

I love how cannon balls slow down in water, not something you see too often in sea games. I wonder what material they're made of, seems they're not too heavy. :D

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

I wanted to have fun and keep playing, but the controls kept getting in the way and the vagueness of the arms didn't help either. Good theme implementation though.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Interesting :D So much fun just with Kraken and few ships XD

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice! Cool that you can boost out the water :)

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Hey cool, you had a similar idea to me with the arms thing!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Good job on the game! was fun!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very nice mechanics and idea, I enjoyed it.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I am the flying kraken! :) Fun game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Sweet game, one of my favourites from this LD. It legit feels like an old retro game. In 1985 you would pay $money for this on a Commodore 64. I think this could be expanded into quite a fun experience. Small tip: it might pay to move the SPACEBAR bit of the opening splash down to the bottom where the rest of the controls are listed. I didn't notice the boost at first.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I love the feelingq of this solid entry ! Graphics and audio are good and I found the controls and the animation of tentacles hilarious ! Great job :D

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

Interesting concept. Controlling him was difficult, and while launching ships into the air was fun, the sluggish response made me want to be all done playing it.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Great style! Yarr.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Everyone loves a good kraken game :)

ehtd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42am

Torpedo!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

This is very nice. I like how little control one has.

It looks great too. I think perhaps the tentacle attack is a little underpowered. In my first play I didn't realise you could boost to kill, and I was 'roleplaying' by sneaking up on ships. It would be great if there was some stealth. Once i realised you could smash ships with boost, the tentacles were basiaclly useless.

I also wish that there was a little more happening, especially under the water. Maybe a way to get more health or something.

Overall a really good effort! Cheers!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Tons of potential here, and fun! Good job!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:33am

Really like the concept and destroying things is just fun! Love the controls!
Maybe you should add some variety, enemies under the water too that can replenish your health for example

May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

This was good fun, I agree that I wanted W to be 'accelerate', but other than that it was great. Managed to create a good mood with simple graphics too

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:56am

Really like the retro look and concept behind the game. I found it a little tricky to control the tentacles, but the boost was a lot of fun. :)

Hypnohustla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice idea! The controls could have been a bit tighter, and it could have used more effects on ship destruction but still a solid game. :)

May 6, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Love the concept and the squid! I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:21am

Fun game, I'm glad bigger ships came.

DonovanWu says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

Nice physics effect. The tentacle should be made stronger, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]