Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

CRUDE

by blahoink - Jam Entry

a game about petroleum and pain

pretty much an oil tycoon game but you have to juggle a variety of problems, solve them with money, and be as cruel as possible to everyone

INSTRUCTIONS:
to start hit "build hq" and plop it. from there you can build rigs, sensors, and tanks. tanks and rigs both need workers in order to function. use the action bar to manage the levels at the top in order to survive. good luck!

the core features are present but the features we wanted are very unfinished. unbalanced and half-implemented (like the action bar and the other bars at the top)

disclaimer: loud noises, extreme particles, explicit content? this game is also extremely resource-heavy for no good reason at all

all bugs are intentional and were added for humor

blahoink - https://github.com/blahoink - code, art
kevtastic - code, art, sound, bacon bits

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#34Theme(Jam)3.93
#81Humor(Jam)3.56
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#276Mood(Jam)3.25
#314Graphics(Jam)3.54
#493Audio(Jam)2.73

Comments

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

The very first thing I did was spend all my money on cocaine. Fun game.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Fun game, would like to see a full version with more features

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

A great game! It's already addictive :D

wheelsx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

I would love to see a more complete version. This has lots of potential.

tomhunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

Interesting idea, and enjoyed the dark humor. I found the pace to be a bit slow, though, and lost interest after the first few rounds of drill oil-get money-pay everyone/buy cocaine. Couldn't figure out how to drill deeper than the topmost spots of oil.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

Really neat little sim. I like expanding out my little petroleum outfit, adding more bits, plate spinning to keep my meters happy, and spelunking a bit more more paydirt. Has a retro sim vibe to it.

brackcurly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

This is the most interesting Game I've seen so far. The animations are cute and it has a good sense of humor. What the game is really lacking is the fine tuning. The storage is too small and you get to much money for the oil, so it's not really challenging to make a profit. You should also add Descriptions for the differen actions with there effects and costs. I hope you keep working on this :)

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:13am

awesome. this is really cool.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

This was fun! I liked it when stuff started exploding. I don't understand how to dig deeper, and I couldn't get any upgrades to work.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

Very good game , I really wanted to expand more and use the huge amount of money I got out of selling oil :P
so I kept building sensors on the trees on the right to see if there would be an unexplored land . but too bad one of the trees were high .

hbocao says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

Neat idea! It's like Cookie Clicker meets Tropico but, well, simpler. Awesome job, guys!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

I like the dark humor, the art style, and the basic mechanics. It would be nice if there were more to the game--as other commenters said, I wasn't able to upgrade anything so there seemed to be no way around certain hard limitations, such as max depth.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Yeah, this could be a really great full game - what's here is already fun and "moreish".

blahoink says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Thanks for all the feedback. Were definitely thinking of post-LD development, and maybe porting to a better platform (haxeflixel maybe)

praporomsk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:43am

it's sad that some features left unimplemented, but the game is still pretty fun and playable!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Not sure if there is a proper strategy to it, but I had fun. With a proper tutorial and objectives, this could be a great idea for a game

May 3, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Cool game! It'd be cool to see this fleshed out a bit more and maybe with some more challenge added in. A few minutes in I was making bank. Also, Family happiness seemed to get locked in at some point, so I didn't have to hire any nannies in a while.

This may be the first game I've ever seen with a cocaine button. Thematically appropriate and hilarious. Even funnier that I seem to be able to "snort snort" a million times in a few short seconds without any adverse effects.

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:38am

Fun little sim, I built the whole thing up twice and wished I could chop down forests to build some more. The feel was really there, with the art and the gurgling sound.

It would be interesting to see where it could go if you kept working on it. The way it was, life was a little too easy for the oil tycoon, but I could see the parts were there to make it tougher!

strong99 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Fun game, who doesn't want to be an oil magnate in a wooden shed? :D Sadly upgrades didn't work :(

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Haha excellent concept that fits to the theme! Would have like a little more feedbacks and objectives. Music is missing too! What is the cheat code to have more money? :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]