Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Transgression

by increpare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#490Theme3.34
#596Innovation3.00
#617Humor2.35
#796Mood2.72
#1079Overall2.59
#1252Fun1.63
#1257Graphics1.53

Comments

Softwave says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

I can safely say that I do not "get it".

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

This one's hard. I'm pretty sure there's a message it's trying to give... Or maybe not.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:12am

Enjoyed!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

beneath the surface. Hard core on theme. :)

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Hehe, nice one. :) Great theme usage and I like the creativity!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

Very interesting entry. Less a game than a piece of artistic text.

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

You know, it's interesting how people's interpretation of subtext is different.. Take "Don't worry about it" - you (or your game) interprets that as deliberately withholding forgiveness, but for me that could just as well mean that the "forgiver" really *wouldn't* hold the transgression against the other, or even that there was nothing to forgive in the first place, from their point of view. So then you can get awkward situations where one person believes it's been dealt with and everything is fine and the other thinks they've not only done something wrong, but been denied forgiveness! Highlights the importance of clear communication, i think =]

Of course, a ton of this depends on context and facial expressions and the previous relationship between the people involved and all those other things, none of which are in this game! ([smug] I forgive you.)

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Well, you could say they're beneath the surface, i guess. I'm sorry.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:02am

it was interesting to think about what forgiveness really means and think more consciously about how i respond to apology (and also what i'm expecting when i apologise) - great take on the theme

May 3, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Woulnd't call it a game, but definetely interesting. You made me read through all the answers and think about them.

BoneDaddy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Very cool little game. Great use of the theme for sure.

abayb says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:43pm

That was deeeeeep bro

May 17, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Fun little experiment. I disagreed with some of the descriptions (especially "Don't worry about it"), which is always fun to experiment.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]