Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Marathoner Pro

by jomomomo - Jam Entry

Had planned to create something a little different, but ran out of time this weekend and ended up with this unfinished game.

Experience the thrill of running a Marathon from your keyboard or mobile device by tapping the highlighted key.

Still missing:
* Multiple layers of buildings to help show progress around the city.
* Display start / finish line
* Wait to start until gun is fired
* Players can collect coins as they run
* Players can turn coins into subway tokens to take shortcuts to get to the end of the race quicker (you know, "Beneath the Surface", eh)
* Players can buy additional coins with real money.
* Sweet sweet running soundtrack
* The sound of someone struggling to run.
* A nice virtual 26.2 sticker for anyone who completes the game.

Will attempt to post android apk later once I get that working.

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#626Humor(Jam)1.79
#649Audio(Jam)1.67
#730Mood(Jam)1.81
#741Innovation(Jam)1.97
#744Fun(Jam)1.92
#747Graphics(Jam)2.00
#765Theme(Jam)1.20
#765Overall(Jam)1.86

Comments

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Ouch, my fingers! I managed to get up to about 13 speed at one point, but I really started to feel it quickly. Marathon indeed!

Kaoin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Good attempt, not sure how it relates to the theme though.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Ah ah ah, it reminds me very old sport game on NES and MS :D

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Great Game but unrelated

Phyyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:25am

Good game, no relation to the theme though...

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:30am

Doesn't fit the theme at all. Fun, but totally not in key with what this LD was about though.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

RSI here I come!

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Not related to the theme, but it's a good try

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:31am

No related to the theme, but it's OK.

nSun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Note for AZERTY keybords, inputs are :
[J] [K] [L] [M]

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I liked your sprite artwork, and the game certainly felt like a marathon to play!

TheExGenesis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Web link seems broken :/

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Funny game!

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Well well, I run an impressive distance of 0 kilometers.

ALobker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Horrible controls, would work better with controls for two hands. Also, web link is more a download link.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Pretty fun, stressful on the hand though! also beneath the surface?

Penguincat says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:16am

I was expecting something a little more QWOP-y, so on the one hand, it was nice that you could run so easily, but on the other hand, hitting that sequence over and over again got tiring pretty quickly. As it stands, there's not much motivation to push past that and finish the marathon. I'd like to play this again when it's more fleshed out with the other features you mentioned.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Nice game, but not related to the theme...
My highscore was 10! x)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]