Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

BactoCo

by Hempuli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about a deadly(?) disease trying to infiltrate a company building. Its goal is to get the CEO of the company sick, and some devious cunning (which bacterial diseases seldom have) is needed to move through the building. The idea is that the bacteria are 'beneath' the skin of the host.

The disease can have only one host at a time, but it can cause various symptoms to that host. Using these symptoms strategically is the key to getting through the game.

It uses only left mouse button, yay! I tend to have too complicated control schemes.

The game was made using Multimedia Fusion 2 by Clickteam. Also I used an example to get the A* pathfinding working - said example was made by Adam 'Sketchy' Hawker. Thanks, Adam!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#27Innovation4.18
#29Humor3.95
#86Fun3.75
#89Overall3.84
#172Graphics3.84
#276Mood3.34
#484Audio2.88
#707Theme3.09

Comments

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16am

Awesome job! I enjoyed the puzzle aspect with the abilities.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

Ha, this is a great idea :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Fun.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

Didn't quite understand the concept at first, but then I read the text, hahahahha. Fun game. Was able to spread the disease successfully.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Infectious disease has never been this adorable! Very cute. The puzzles themselves felt a little straightforward after figuring out how the abilities worked but it's good fun nevertheless.

baboum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Really fun, good job!

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Really cool idea, imaginative use of the theme! I'd love to see this fleshed out into a bigger game with different abilities and AI, etc.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

Great job Hempuli! Very original. I like the movement of the cute tiny people :D

loadx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43am

Pixel art was awesome. Gameplay is pretty good but agree with the above comment. Once you figure out how to switch the disease carrier it's pretty simple.

Looking forward to seeing what you do in future :)

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

I really love the puzzle mechanic, well done :)

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Hey there. Great game! i kind of liked the puzzle idea. It kind of reminded me of gunpoint (which is a good thing :) )

Some Background music would have been nice as well as a second (or even more) level but the gameplay itself is so intriguing that does not matter that much.

Really nice Work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Really nice mechanics! I never played something like that. An extended version with more abilities would be great

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Very nice game! I like the puzzle mechanics and the honesty in the caption when you get to the last person. :D

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Great concept and really fun! Nice graphics too. It would be great to see this in a bigger office with more things you can do to victims. Good job :)

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Weird. Clicking the web version button lands me on a malware detected page from my antivirus. You might want to check your system.

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

Hahahha funny game. Great art, too!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

Took a bit to understand. Awesome looking idea!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

xhunterko: you could have told what antivirus software you use :( I've checked my site with several different programs in the past and I think there's one that for some reason marks it as harmful (might've been called bitguardian or something like that).

Thanks for the compliments!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I'm not very good at this but really liked the concept and design, well polished game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice good with good graphics, took a while to understand how it works though.

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

very, very fun game. great job!

Danvil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01am

That was fun :) I did not get the connection to the theme though.

dukope says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:40am

Had some deja-vu playing this, but I like your implementation better. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=8745

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Really innovative idea, and solid entry all around. :)

xhunterko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:51am

Aw. This was much much too short!

xhunterko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:51am

But rather nicely done! Would love to see more!

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:51am

Very good game, I had fun with this. At first I didn't know the pause button was part of the gameplay, might want to clear it up beforehand because I was confused why the virus didn't jump over from person to person even though the particles touched the other person (RL logics :/).

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:46am

Youhoo victory. The boss is ill!
Oh my god this is a really cool idea. I like the simple controls and what you can do with them.
Great game!

JavadocMD says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

Really cute and well executed! For those who are confused (like I was) click pause when someone else is near, then you can switch hosts into another person. Simple game, but very creative.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:54pm

This is a brilliant concept, very original, would love to see more levels. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]