Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beer 3000

by neosam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Brew Your Beer!

Everywhere people drink beer because it's tasty, cool and makes drunk. But what is behind these delicious fluid? How is it created?

Basically, it's a fluid which contains water, yeast and carbohydrate (some kind of sugar). The yeast "eats" the carbohydrate to get energy since there is no oxygen and produces alochol and CO2.

In this game, it's up to you to create a good (and strong) beer! You are the yeast which needs to eat carbohydrates and alcohol will appear. But watch out! You will take huge damages of the alcohol so don't touch it!

Go ahead, start the game and just make your beer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Humor3.45
#330Fun3.30
#449Mood3.11
#473Theme3.35
#574Overall3.17
#577Innovation3.04
#912Graphics2.61
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Science and stuff!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Prost!

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

OH i made strong beer! very good!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

As a yeast researcher I had to try this, but I'm not going to comment about the sciency reservations I have -- after all it is quite hard to make a game where the protagonist have no volatile motion.

I didn't really get how score vs alcohol worked, wasn't alcohol the score? And I never really saw the health of my yeast after digesting some of that ethanol.

Other than that, a simple and quite fun little game.

neosam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Hi. Alcohol is the score, of course :). Your life is the number on the right side which is continously counting down.

Great Job btw :)

tanjent says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Excellent idea, I think you can polish this further and create a really fun game. Why not more alcohol = (even) more fuzzy controls?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

mmm, beer. Cool concept, a little confusing though.

neosam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:40pm

tanjent: The fuzzy controls is a good idea :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54pm

interesting take on the theme!

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Fun to play but lacks a self destruction timer for carbohydrates so the player has to move fast and not just dodge alcohol

neosam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:38am

Ragzouken: Thanks :)
eowindil: Didn't think of it. Maybe a self destruction timer would be a good idea.

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice little game. It looks easy at first but it actually gets quite hard.

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:20am

7.20% Beer here ! Bouncing bonus (instead of just goind through them ) is not very usual but nevertheless fun to play.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The download is extremely slow on my end, so I didn't play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]