Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

From Beneath the Surface

by malith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my first Ludum Dare entry.

Controls:
W - Jump
A - Move Left
D - Move Right
S - Place Bomb
Mouse - Aim
Left click - shoot (Hold or click)
P - Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#551Graphics3.17
#596Fun2.97
#607Theme3.21
#936Humor1.89
#1036Mood2.41
#1036Overall2.67
#1158Innovation2.14

Comments

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Love the pixel art!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice art, OK controls!

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Fun game. It felt like a poor man's Risk of Rain. Great first entry! :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

This is a cool little game. Not too much to it but everything that's there felt and looked good. Well done!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Smooth controls, and I liked the ability to double jump. I didn't realize I could do that at first, but it makes the game a lot more playable.

Bullets barely do any damage, and while it's fine at first, once enemies start piling up, they seem entirely ineffective since enemies respawn much faster than they can be killed. After the first couple enemies have spawned, bombs become the only relevant game mechanic.

Nice first entry!

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Cool little game. Digging the graphics, the enemy animations especially.

eLLectron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Funny game (sun)
You could try to add another map (non linear !) and other monsters with different speed/ health / etc... And boxes with random weapons haha ;D

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Like the art style!

randoman says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Controls are great and nice pixel art! Missed sound effects though

fermenter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Pretty fun little game. It'd be nice with improvement.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]