Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Herder monster

by Wukkopi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wooo! Another Ludum Dare behind \o/

In this game you control a creature who needs to eat habitants of a planet. Your goal is to balance between this creatures satiety and under/overpopulation of the planet.

Rules:
Red habitant = infant / 1 point
Pink habitant = fertile / 2 points
Green habitant = elder / 3 points

Fertile habitants breeds new habitants only once, after that they'll become elders. Elders will die of old age.

I'll try to make a linux port with monogame, but if I can't I'll definitely create a youtube video.
edit: I've been lazy :( Time to smack myself to do those both!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Innovation3.71
#299Theme3.56
#421Humor2.63
#450Fun3.13
#812Overall2.92
#836Mood2.67
#990Graphics2.50
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

phi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Hmm... Seems like a nice idea, although the game is not really polished and it's just too easy. You can just move the moster around the surface once, and all the habitants are gone. The physics and controls on the moster seem quite nifty, maybe you should just add some more gameplay to it. And make the screen bigger. :)

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I enjoyed it. But I agree it's perhaps too easy. A bit more variety I think is needed, especially with a resource survival game like this.

robopossum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I really like the idea of having to conserve the population rather than trying to eat them all constantly.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Wow great idea : population control and you play a big monster who kill them all. I really like it. I'm sure you can exploit it more.

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Absence of sounds is pretty bad for this game. Anyway, concept is nice!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Great little game! I like the idea of having to control the population without either wiping them out or letting them overcome you. 1800 is the best I managed to do though.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:59pm

The game idea is very awesome, i love how the monster just goes and eats everything xD. I just wall on the border and eat all of them which is kind of easy tho. Great work :D

Hamsternator says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:07pm

To play as a monster but be forced to control your own urges to devour everything in order to not run out of food... brilliant! With some nice sound effects and a prettier monster this could be something special =)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]