Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whale of a time

by jeffz - Jam Entry

Had fun with the music and artwork but I ran out of time to make more gameplay after. which will probably go into a post-jam edition. Controls: click/tap where the whale should go Goal: be a whale. Loading time: Please wait on the black screen (Dropbox can be slow to serve the assets) -- I forgot to put in a loading status. Congrats to all who finished and thanks in advance for any feedback. I'll try to rate those who comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#522Audio(Jam)2.66
#539Mood(Jam)2.77
#649Fun(Jam)2.34
#701Graphics(Jam)2.30
#702Innovation(Jam)2.19
#729Overall(Jam)2.31

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

Sadly the ship get's caught on the corner so i had to retry several times until i knew what i should do. Mood-Wise and Audio-Wise it is very good though.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

Oh is there a way to win the game? I just thought it was a little sandbox thing to play with. Anyways, I really like the art, the whale is pretty adorable :]

I had a lot of fun repeatedly clicking and making the whale fly above water, I even got him on top of a boat haha. Even if there's no goal, the game is pretty fun to play around with, especially with the sound effects.
Though it'd be nice to have a goal or something to do. If there was one and I missed it, maybe a bit more communication for those of us who don't get it?

Overall, it's a cute, fun, little game :]

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

The game isn't loading for me in either Firefox or Chrome. I'm on a Mac.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

It took some to figure out what to do and still not sure what is the point. Mood is great

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56am

Great whale, shame you ran out of time!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

I like the whale sounds. :-)

Team Castor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

I am not sur to understand the goal :(. But I love the whales !

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The whale is the cutest thing ever. Sad to hear you ran out of time, but awesome you still submitted!

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Weee, flying whale!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Cute game! You definitely have a good basis, just need to find some gameplay mechanics and it could be a great game!

kibertoad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Bumping into ships was fun and the whale looks jolly. Cute little entry.

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Being a whale on the moon has been quite an experience, thank you but... is there a goal?

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Interesting toy, and I like the sound/music!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53am

Not really a game, but grats for .. managing to make something.

I'm jealous of your tagline though. Can I borrow it?

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I like being able to fly. I wish you had gotten more done on it, but it is highly entertaining.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I liked the whale's sound effect :D

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I'm not sure to get the goal of the game,
but I kinda like the graphics, the colors give a cool atmosphere, especially the moon! nice draw =) maybe graphics could be polished a bit more, e.g. more layers for the sea.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

<zwzsg> I got a ship stuck on the moon nose. Now what?
<jeffz> zwzsg: you've basically completed the game in its current incarnation

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:32am

Whale, grate! Cool noises :)

GagaPete says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice start, not much of a game though. I had fun hanging on the boats. :)

May 2, 2014 @ 3:38am

Such a cute looking game! I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

May 2, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Ha, that whale is so cute! :D
I'd love to see a post compo version with more things to do! ;)

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

A bit confusing, seems like need an objective. Nice audio work.

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Too bad you didn't got any gameplay elements in it, but it was great fun. I flew to the moon!

cr2crstudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:05am

I give large kudos for making a whale sim. :)

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:51am

cool =)

May 7, 2014 @ 1:12am

THE MOON

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Flying whale crashed to the moon, and the ship was pushed into the black hole. :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]