Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deepweb

by alect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle game about investigation and hunting beneath the surface of the web.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#66Innovation4.02
#79Fun3.78
#89Overall3.84
#140Humor3.32
#193Mood3.51
#285Audio3.19
#316Theme3.54
#496Graphics3.25

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very cool gameplay. Reminded me (in a good way) of the DeusEx hacking mechanic crossed with Minesweeper. Good sound design as well.

Great job!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very solid gameplay and the writing was excellent as well. Nicely done!

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

no linux version :(

harko12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

I tried to click to start, but no dice. Sounds like are really neat idea thought

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Wow, really really good stuff here, top marks all round. Added benefit, your typing sound gave me crazy ASMR!

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Very highly polished. Lots of fun.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Very cool game, the typing sound reminded me of carmen sandiego haha. Also nice names "MidnightToker" haha.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Surprisingly detailed when you get to later levels and unlock stuff... would have preferred that mission failure was "replay level" not "restart".

You had a lot of fun with the theme, nice job on taking the real twitter accs :)

alect says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

Just added (untested) linux version along with other desktop versions. Enjoy!

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Really nice unique gameplay and plot!

A couple of things:
- I can't click to skip the intro text like I can for other text in the game, although it mysteriously works if I go to another browser tab and come back. Not a big deal.
- I missed that it was find AND frag the target at first, leading to a couple of unnecessary deaths. The instructions should maybe have shown the actual frag button as well as the target's icon.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

I needed some time to get into the game, but when you get how to play it is much fun. Very well executed. I like it very much.

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

I'm a sucker for minesweeper style games, this is really enjoyable.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

That's cool. A bit of work on the mechanics and this could be a great mobile game

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

Good concept, nice puzzle game. Reminds me of combinatorics and graph theory.

The main two suggestions I have are that either you should be able to restart a failed mission instead of the entire series, or money should carry over. Maybe I was mistaken, but it felt like any profit I got from finishing a mission early didn't help with the next mission, and then it hurt to lose all the fancy tools I had gained. Promising ideas though!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57am

Stupendous!, simple and fun with a balance of challenge

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Like Mr-X boardgame, nice basis for an LD game. Well implemented.

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Love this style of game, :)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

I kept wanting to move using commands and a fake unix prompt rather than clicking -- get that "real hacking" feel :D

jomomomo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07am

Oh man, loved so much about this game. Only issue is that I would love to see a "restart level", rather than a restart game... or perhaps take the player back another step or two, just not all the way back to start. Other than that, brilliant!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:19am

Neat idea! Fun to play

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

Ahhh, cyberpunk! *.* instant 5.

Oh, and yeah, gameplay is also great and original. :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18pm

I loved this! Such a fun and simple thinking game. Reminded me of the board game Scotland Yard. :) Great job.

noom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:59am

Tough little game, loved the concept though. I couldn't get very far into it due to sucking so bad, which was a shame because I felt I could have enjoyed it more.

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:59am

Very fun and addicting.

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00am

Great game !

shasharala says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:02am

That was a good experience. Quite difficult, but in a swell way. Reminded me a tad of Minesweeper which I played extensively as a child.

josefnpat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice game! It's a shame that when you die, you have to start all over again. Very cool though! Great job!

bussiere says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I will not vote for it beacuse not enough in the theme i think but very nice game i encourage you to make a better version and sort it officially.

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:32am

This is really addictive! I have to say, this is hands down the most fun LD29 game I've played so far. Very nice work!

May 4, 2014 @ 4:45pm

So much fun!! i could play this for hours

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]