Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Toxic Below

by dertom - Jam Entry

Since lots of people told me the game is almost not controllable I changed the controls to keyboard. Everything else stayed the same...

You fly a Toxic-Chopper to clean the earth from toxic fluid that got pumped in years for years by the oil/gas industry.... Now it comes back and it need to be removed again...and that is YOUR JOB :D

Fly carefully to the toxic and pump it up with your vehicle. Don't get too deep into the toxic! Otherwise...

There are 5 Levels!! Come on, it's not that hard.

Afterjam-Controls:
left/right : a/d or arrows
thrust : return or space

Jam:
100% Mouse-based:
Left-Button: Thrust UP
Mouse-Movement: Left<->Right

Yes the controls are tough, but that is part of the game. It is all about timing... :D

Mac-Port: Got the game ported to mac. There are some issues with openal and it have a bug when leaving the game....but hopefully it should work :D

Android: Touch to thrust and accelerometer to move! :D The accel only works only on devices with portrait as native orientation correct. Otherwise the wrong accel value is taken...Game needs lots of power and a decent resolution(otherwise the start-game button won't show up :D)

Since my engine has still some issues it would be great to tell me your system you played on (especially if it crashed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#236Humor(Jam)2.93
#281Theme(Jam)3.33
#308Fun(Jam)3.10
#308Mood(Jam)3.18
#339Overall(Jam)3.27
#385Audio(Jam)3.03
#480Graphics(Jam)3.10

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

Sweet game! Once I figured out not to press "A" in order to play it properly it was really fun and hard! :D

dertom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

@Marcus: Thx for playing! I fixed the bug with the A-key and now the ingame instructions should appear on windows as well... still the 'restart-level'-bug to fix :D

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17am

I'm using Windows XP, and the game just crashes when I try to run it. I'd guess there might be a dll missing.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21am

When I start the game all I have on the screen is that red machine rotating, and I can't do anything.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

Not sure if the control is realy hard or I just can't figure how it works :v The concept is nice btw :)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

@AtkinsSJ: Not sure about xp, at least it works on my win7.
@Titiesouris: Hmm,seems the GUI is not shown, damn.
@BlazingFanfish: Yeah, the controls might be a bit hard and might differ from mouse-settings,...not sure why I didn't implement keyboard-control (too late for this now)

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Keeps crashing on my windows 7, seems like a cool concept though!

brogrammers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Voice sound effects FTW!!!

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Fun game once I got the hang of it.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Takes a bit to get use to but afterwards it's fun

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Strange, strange game, but it is playable, and has a personal touch. Good job!

soulrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50pm

A quite challending and fun game, although my right arm thinks different (somehow steering with the mouse made my arm hurt after a while o_0).

At some point the "toxic collected" counter gave a value of 199.99999/200 so I was afraid I had to restart the level, but fortunately it still registered as 200/200!

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

your game wont run on my win8 pc ,
to bad really wanted to try looks like a fun game .

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

cool design for the main ship - liked the sounds too!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Nice gameplay, really unique

SirJson says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:49am

The Toxic-Chopper is hard to control

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Ok, I also released a version with keyboard-control as afterjam-version! Everything else stayed the same

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Really hard some times that made it even funnier, i really like ship's animations. Well done !
PS : keyboard version work well and nice sounds ;)

sensenmann666 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

wow i had to laugh at the sucking animation, funny game, well done!

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Toxic lunar lander dreams! I swoop my eggshell craft around and slorp the goo. I found the first goo the nicest: I fell precipitously into further goo and did not get to Elephant for nearly long enough. Wishing that my deaths were catastrophic and not so brusque.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I like the idea of the player being a thing :)
One big critic: the sound effects were too loud (elvating sound, hitting-the-floor )! That's a pity because I had to turn the volume down and could not hear the well done, moody bg music anymore :(

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Crashes a lot.
Crashes at the end of the level so I couldn't play it entirely. Good game though. I like the graphics. The slurping animation is very good/funny. Also, nice engrish. It's always interesting to hear man-made MIC sound effects.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:03pm

This was really hard! It's tough to pull off such a precision skills based game without it feeling unfair, and Toxic Below did a pretty solid job of it. The controls are responsive, if a bit difficult to master (I played mouse only version) and getting the timing right to hover over a spill just feels great.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Cool, very interesting mechanics once you get the idea.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:19am

Neat choice of mechanic, and nice graphics. I found the jam version controls really hard to use, but the game seems pretty fun. Downloading the post-jam version for later :)

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I like the game mechanics but when I reach the end of the first level I just see chopper spinning on itself and nothing else. Ii's stuck so I have no other chance but to quit... Too bad.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice game, one of the types I really like, those fly and reach some point games :) And a really nice model of the helicopter :) I hope the game will be further developed, as it's already a succesful 'timestealer' :D

GagaPete says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice challenging game. Played on Android and the controls are pretty frustrating. :)

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:36am

Very good! It is challenging, but that's part of the appeal :) It did crash on my Windows 8 machine though, just after I'd collected all the waste from the level in which there are multiple pools. I do like the sound effects and the slurping animation.

Also I made a linux version of my game for you (the daring adventures of the blob)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]