Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Quantum Tunnelling

by gigitrix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Built on Chrome. May work on other browsers, but it might perform slower/look uglier!

Firefox - confirmed ugly and tanks FPS!

==================================

Use WASD/Arrows to move, and mine blocks of resources.
E = Stockpile resources in Portals
Q = Buy upgrades with stockpile from Portals

==================================

Quantum Tunnelling! The asteroid miners of the future have had one too many accidents with mining lasers and space dust. So they've come up with a far more sensible option - using the power of quantum to teleport non risk-averse employees into the asteroids themselves!

Are you a bad enough dude to harness the power of this technology and burrow to the core? Or will an unfueled craft become stranded on the asteroid itself...?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#364Theme3.47
#401Fun3.20
#425Overall3.31
#482Innovation3.16
#566Mood2.98
#566Graphics3.16
#901Humor1.94
#1033Audio1.46

Comments

sausagely says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:53am

Love it! Wow this is so addictive. Awesome job dude!

Sim00n says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

This game needs some audio and a little bit of explanation of what is going on. I liked the graphics. Nice job!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

Great job:)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

Thanks Sim00n, I've updated the description a bit. Audio would have been nice, definitely on the feature list!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

COOL!

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice take on the classic mining games.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Extremely laggy, but I can see the idea behind it.

Please optimize it and I'd even pay for an extended version.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I could not play it, it started but its running very slow, well my pc is an stone age one :p, but i can at least run unity 3d web player games.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Nice game, a bit slow but it may come from my browser/system

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

This is quite a lot of fun, I wish I could dig upwards though! Was still super fun, ran out of fuel twice :(

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

For those experiencing performance issues - There are two things at play:

1) The game was developed and tested with only Chrome. Firefox and IE may work, but it makes sense that they are suboptimal as I haven't played around with them yet :)

2) The game loads (not rendering but loads) the entire map, which is a good chunk of RAM. I've noticed a few slight pauses as the world loads in in this way, and I imagine that it's worse on lower performance machines. For me it stabilises after the first ~300ms spike

If I develop this further I'll make the world stream in "chunks" which should help alleviate this :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

@qntnm: I was going to add powerups so you could do that in a similar fashion :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Oh and yeah the lack of fuel is a bit of a balance issue. A future revision would have a larger initial fuel tank and more seeded fuel portals :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Apologies for the weird graphical artifacts that sometimes manifest when you dig. This was an issue that there simply wasn't time to look into and fix! (although for some reason I couldn't reproduce it in my VM...)

NuSan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Great system, it's fun with a lot of things to find. I would love having some texture on the blocks.

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I like it :) Collecting minerals always was awesome for me :D

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Addictive and minimalist, the duo works ! Maybe a little slow, give to the player more "reward" will be better, and add some sounds ! :p

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Wow, amazing job ! Lovely mining game and awesome aesthetics ! Congratulations !

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Tipyx: the world generation stuff was hastily thrown in at the end, I definitely need to revisit player progression etc beyond a few Math.random()s everywhere.

I would also slap together a sandbox mode for those who just want to get deeper and accumulate score without worrying about lose conditions ;)

It's interesting that people like the art - I realized pretty late on that I could roll with it as "minimalist" - apparently my programmer art seems to work for some people :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:36am

I feel like each resource type should have it's own use. And you could've made it clearer that you had to stockpile resources before using them.

Looks decent and controls well. Good job.

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09am

Very nice and addictive game. Like the art style!
Failstate definitely adds challenge to the whole game. I think it would be useful to have some sort of goal or achievements as well.
Didn't get the health thing as there are no enemies in the game (would have been nice though).
Jerky camera motion makes me feel a bit sick. And FPS starts to dip on lower levels. Some sort of audio is never a bad thing to do.
Great game nevertheless!

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Hey other Toby! So, uh, I probably just played this for far too long. It's sort of addictive because you want to know what happens next: Are there any more upgrades? Is there an end? I found a drill upgrade and I mined into the ruby section (which took me more than half an hour), but ultimately, I ran out of fuel and stopped playing. (Also, nobody ever wanted my coal :P)

I think the progression is a fair bit too slow. I really could've done with more drill speed and/or more of those drill speed upgrades. Is there an end to the game?

The graphics are simple, but servicable and everything was easily recognizable. I would've loved to have sound effects to make the drilling get a bit more tangible feel to it.

All in all, a pretty interesting game, especially with the random generation - in 48 hours. Good job!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

@tobiasW dude, you made it to Ruby? That's amazing! Thanks for sharing your experience.

There is a finite "bedrock" at the bottom (1000 tiles deep!) but that wasn't the point, I should have added "depth" to the death screen really.

Fuel is a bit of a problem - realistically I should have seeded a bit more. Apparently people like my "programmer art" minimalism but I wanted to throw particles in there, and I agree on sounds/music.

More drill speed and engine speed would have helped you but that's luck of the draw I guess! If I develop it further the portals would be less frequent, but present multiple "choices" of upgrades, similar to an Item Shop in a "Roguelite" like Binding of Isaac or Paranautical Activity.

There also needs to be more failure states than just boring "your time runs out". I have ideas...

Thanks for the detailed review and helpful feedback, and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

@Roman_Kornev: Yeah the camera thing is an annoying detail that I'd overlooked while making it, thanks for spotting it!

Health was for fall damage. I had planned to add things like Lava and gas pockets but I ran out of time. I'm not sure what I'd do going forward if I take it further but I might try something other than these - they are pretty much similar to motherload and I'd rather do something interesting instead if I can.

FPS I'll look into. I know how I can make the game much more efficient, which may improve FPS, or it may be something else...

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Interesting concept. I agree with some of the other comments re sound and a little more help on instruction. Maybe the game speed could be increased (turbo mode?) Well done otherwise!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Agreed jeffz, people were supposed to get upgrades more often from the portals but last minute balancing kinda tanked it :/

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08am

Good job! I wish these games would have the base drilling speed be much, much faster - it would really up the enjoyment. I hate feeling like I'm just sitting there waiting, it's the worst feeling: like being at a stop light or something.

Cool concept and mechanic though, wish I had gotten low enough to find the hidden dew :P

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20am

It seemed a bit slow as far as gameplay, but it seems like it has a lot of potential. I sure did run out of fuel a lot though.

jotson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:04am

Cool concept. I think this is worth working on some more.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Laggy in Chromium browser. A little unclear on what to do!

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This is a nice mining game :)

ryangatts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Nice game. Some audio would have been nice. I like that the game was difficult. I think the red and blue bars could be redesigned to make their function a bit clearer.

snooze82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I like the idea to have different stores/ portals within the asteroid. Nice take :)

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:33am

Interesting concept.

asotelo94 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Interesting, the lack of audio made lose interest though.

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:40am

The mood is great - I especially like the lighting change when you die. The ui and and controls were slick and responsive.

I wish there was more to do besides collect resources and not run out of fuel.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Amazing game ! Totally addictive. I was supposed to work this morning, haha 2 hours gone into your awesome game ! Really nice, perfectly balanced, not too hard neither too easy. Perfect :)

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:01pm

The "fuel low" warning is too small, I once died just because I hadn't seem it. other than that, awesome game.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:49pm

well done man :)

May 3, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Seems like an interesting base idea, but its a bit lacking in things to do at the moment. I like the aesthetic though.

Exergy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:34am

I really like the graphics style in this game! Good work!

Larzan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice, fun to play, although i didn't realy undestand the score...

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:55pm

This is quite an interesting game concept. Though the game is a bit too luck-based in my opinion. It is quite frustrating when you have several shops around you but none offer fuel, or only for a resource that you can't get. Maybe if the shops didn't disappear it would let the player build up a "base" around a few strategic shops. Still, good job!

tenpn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:17am

Really nice, shame it doesn't work well on firefox.

Gap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Interesting concept, I'm missing some audio and sometimes red lines glitch around ;) But good game!

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:28pm

The red lines is so frustrating, that never showed up in my dev environment! I'll be expanding on this concept after LD though :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]