Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bound by the Ground

by small trouble - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wanting to get away, you jump down the well, sick of it all. But eventually when you wake it, you decide to try to get out.

Controls-
Arrow keys to move
R to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#659Audio2.57
#665Mood2.88
#823Innovation2.70
#912Overall2.81
#1063Fun2.38
#1072Graphics2.33
#1094Theme2.38
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Hmmmm... a decent game that requires a lot of practice and patience... I couldn't get past the 3rd stage :P
Nice mood is set up by dark background and simple music.
But not so sure about the theme... all these random things in a well? idk

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I found the game to be very sub-par and lacking in many areas. The graphics of the game seem very rushed and unrefined and the game play is very similar to Flappy Bird. The game in later levels is frustrating and I just had to close it after a few tries

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Phew, some of the maps were indeed quite hard but I did manage to finish it (had to see all the rhymes you had come up). To anyone else playing: the difficulty is really irregular, for me atleast the 3rd stage was the hardest one.

Graphics are ok, audio was super repetitive though. Gameplay was like a more interesting version of Flappy Bird. Also why would I ever want to jump into a well if I had freaking rocket boots!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Interesting, but very very hard ! I'm stuck at lvl 4. I wonder if it is possible to pass the level because at the top of the level there are very few space and the man seems to be bigger than the space (but maybe I didn't try enough).

May 2, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Pretty fun, but unforgiving. I hit a spot that I couldn't get past after 30 tries. Controls were easy to figure out.
On an unrelated note, does anyone know how to fix a broken up arrow key?

vigrid says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:01pm

This is a really hard game to play.

rojo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:39am

The game is pretty hard. Adding in a checkpoint system at the beginning of each level was a good choice, and the music was decent. I think the graphics could do with a little more work. Also, the jumping mechanics could use a little more iteration so they don't feel quite as jerky.

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The link to the game doesn't work : < Hope you'll fix it soon

granut100 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:50pm

This game was hard to play. Nice music and good mood.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]