Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Run, Run, Robot

by kirbytails7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run! Run! Run! Don't stop running, or you will explode!

Deploy the RUNR robot into the underground passage, and help it navigate deeper and deeper. But be careful! Your input to RUNR will be delayed the further beneath the surface it goes.

Instructions in game. Coded in Javascript with a personal engine (it's bad, but if you want to see it you can view the source in browser). Audio with Garageband and BFXR. Art with Paint.NET.

Stages are randomly generated from a set of pre-defined chunks, so try playing a few times if you'd like!

Have fun! Please let me know if something doesn't work, and I'll try to fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#103Audio3.64
#220Fun3.47
#360Overall3.38
#463Humor2.56
#555Innovation3.07
#600Graphics3.11
#619Mood2.92
#707Theme3.09

Comments

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

Neat idea. A bit of elbow grease and polish could make this into a nice mobile game.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03am

Nice. Really like the idea of signal delay, especially in endless runner games like this. Sometimes wall-jumping kills me, when it appears I should have lived.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

@terraco: Thanks. That's the current plan, if people like the game.
@madhoe: Did you notice any particular details when it killed you, things like how you were falling? I'll take a look and see if it needs tuning.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

@kirbytails7 Actually sorry for generalizing :P, but it only happened once. I remember there was significant space between the platform and the character.

Aske says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

First game until now with GREAT audio :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

=) Glad you like it!

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Fun runner-like game. Kept me trying again and again.

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Simple and polished! Has potential.

Artless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23am

This game definitely has some hot guitar lixx in it. Your foray into the endless runner genre is promising.

gwa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29am

Nice one :) I like these runners games.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33am

Nice idea! I haven't thought of signal delays before. Simple fun too!

The jump sound was a bit obtrusive, and I believe on the 3rd level (0.1 delay) I hit the blue wall and died.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:46am

@Raiyumi: Yeah, I think I should have turned the sound effects down a bit. The stages are randomly generated, so I don't know for sure what blue wall you hit, but you can only hit the blue walls and not explode if you're jumping.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49am

I love the music, and it's fun to play, but I'm not fond of starting way back at the beginning when I crash into a wall.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Nice simple runner!

Baknik says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:54am

Best music yet.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:55am

Nice idea with signal delay and wall jumps!
I ran into the bug where I crashed from nothing right after a wall jump. It was after I jumped from the last wall in the wall-jump chain, about to return to normal running.
Hope that helps with the debugging.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08am

@Dietrich Epp: I thought about respawning at the same floor, but since there isn't an end to the game it wouldn't really make sense.
@theholychicken: Hmm...Okay, thanks. I think it's just a collision bug. I noticed occasionally that landing directly on the corner of a block counted as running into it.

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:41am

Very cool music! The extra mechanics are very good!

triforcespark says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:37am

Too difficult for me (I don't play Flappy Bird that much lol) but I admire your skill in programming, art, and music.

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:40am

Pretty difficult, but one of the most fun games I've seen yet. I love the walking animation, but the death screen takes just a bit too long to fade out

CluelessGames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:34am

Good job, good endless runner unfair with some bugs :)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:35am

A really clever idea, even though I died before the signal delay could kick in nine times out of ten. The music is definitely the highlight here.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:37am

Thanks! I think I should put up an easier version since most people seem to not be getting far (although it's post-compo, so that doesn't affect judging). I seem to have a problem of making my games too hard...

May 3, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I like the concept of the signal delay. It's tough to bet far enough to see it happen though (maybe I'm just terrible). Nice work!

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:53pm

The first generated level I played reminded me of level 2-1 in Super Mario. :) Fun game, a little bare, but could fill out nicely with some polish. Would like to see more.

Cosine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Really fun, really hard! The idea of delays seems really really cool.

May 6, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Going left? What heresy is this!?

Had a weird glitch after a number of tries where the level generator seemed to go bonkers. Moved down to level 2 while wall-jumping and exploded. Then exploded again on the next try as I jumped to avoid an incoming obstacle.

Otherwise, it was quite fun. Music had a lot to do with it. Would have been awesome if the overall pace fit its rhythm.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:42am

@Lemming: So you were wall-jumping while changing to level 2? If so...well, that shouldn't be possible, so I'll have to investigate. Thanks.
Yeah, I unfortunately waited until the last few hours to do music, so I had to roll with what I came up with. I'll try to match the pace to the rhythm if I take this further. Glad you like it, though!

May 7, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Ohh, this is flappy-bird-level of hard ;P

Love this! The music is great, and the signal-delay is a brilliant way to ramp up difficulty. Also love how the game starts with the robot alrady running :)

CogComp says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Addictive music and an addictive game! Nice job!

May 8, 2014 @ 8:46pm

@kirbytails: Basically, I randomly warped to what looked like the start of level 2 for one frame, only to immediately die. For all I know, it could be an entirely unrelated glitch.

Anyway, my first guess would be that some flag got messed up or something when resetting after dieing (I think I died on level 2 the previous game), and the triggers stopped fully following the geometry.

Looks like I was the only one to get that though, so probably not too big of an issue.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:19am

Huh, maybe something gets messed up after changing to level 2 a second time...I guess I might have actually not tried it. Not sure. Thanks for the info, though.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Not bad, would have liked checkpoints and a slightly more forgiving death detector.

kikaz says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:54am

Too hazardous in wall jumping phases, but nice except that, cool music and nice animation, good job !

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:03am

Make it a phone game, please! I like the idea of signal delay - a simple way to make the game progressively harder.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]