Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stair Walker

by rezzish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Only one button: Right

and I guess space to restart

so only two buttons

avoid ceiling and spikes.

can you score a point?

I'll be adding things that I had to cut for the compo, so if you want to see slow updates and other stupid things that I talk about, you can follow me on twitter at rezzish

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#391Innovation3.30
#618Fun2.95
#971Overall2.74
#1056Graphics2.37
#1242Theme1.78
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

mattrified says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Feels like it could be the next Flappy Bird, or at least gets that quick, fun mechanic concept down.

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Really simple, yet effective! Nice job!

ioboi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Really fun and simple concept :)
The collision detection needs a bit of work though.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27pm

With tighter design on the level progression, this could be very addictive. Really not seeing the theme in the game, but otherwise a nice concept. I enjoyed playing.

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:35pm

The second version with better controls is a lot more fun to play but I have to rate the original, with worse controls and quite frequently getting stuck on things. Nice idea though. Feels a little like Flappy Bird but fairer. No idea how this relates to the theme but okay.

borrismoose says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I like the idea, simple but effective. I actually prefer the controls in the first version, its more twitchy.

bentog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:57pm

This would benefit from a background color that isn't unity's default. Didn't see any conection to the theme. With some polishing and debugging, could be a great game!

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:14am

Lol! Funny game! Very simple but funny!

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:19am

Simple and fun. No real use of the theme that I can see though.

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:31am

Interesting little mini game, feels like with a bit more time and polish it could be a pretty fun beer and pretzels style thing.

cr2crstudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:03am

Cool idea, well executed, would have liked to see the camera move down if I was past the screen :)

Blokatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Surprisingly, this is quite a nice concept. It needs some polishing, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]