Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

BULLA

by moonmagic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

QPWO TO PLACE HANDS. SQUEEZE BOIL. REMOVE MONSTER AND WIN!

---

Source is included in Windows download (GameMaker 8.1 file). Today I also fixed some of the collision detection and made the boil react appropriately to more than two hands at a time (previously, pinning the boil down with one hand and using two others to squeeze it did not work depending on the hands used).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#14Innovation4.35
#48Humor3.79
#50Audio3.84
#69Mood3.86
#107Overall3.78
#192Graphics3.80
#230Fun3.45
#345Theme3.50

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

This is beautiful. The title screen is perfect.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

Oh man, very hard to get used to the control scheme, but this is a really cool idea! I'd love to see you develop it further, though an explanation of how to maneuver yourself around more easily would be much appreciated. Awesome work!

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

Thanks y'all. Ideally this game would use QPAL, but it can't because of keyboard conflicts :/ I'll put gamepad support into a post-compo build.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

I like the weird mood, haha. Definitely unique, I really enjoyed trying this one, and the effect is pretty satisfying when you get the boil to explode.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The blood is sooooo pretty.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Hahaha this is so bizarre, I love it. Like something straight out of WarioWare. Finally squishing the monster is so satisfying.

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18am

Very strange, interesting controls! first time I popped it was amazing.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Your description and 1-bit art style are very alluring, but alas, there is only a windows version.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49am

Love the take on the theme. Controls kept getting mixed up in my brain. I'll get that monster out one day.

Pheonise says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

This was such an awesome game! Interesting control mechanics, eerie audio, incredible overall!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Loved it!

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

OMG

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

the whole game looks amazing but i love the ending most

feel like a fool i didn't realise what the boil was for the first 30s then it took me a couple of tries to work out how squeezing worked

mimiga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

wasn't sure what to do at first but once i figured out its really cool plus i love the presentation

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

man <3 ur audio

SCCOTTT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Ohhh man - Looove this. Super gorgeous and fun. You are the best, BULLA.

Makai says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I think this is the most underrated (literally) gems of this competition

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I saw one of your posts during the compo and I immediatly wante dto give your entry a try.
I have to say gameplay is as original and appealing as the graphics are. Sound is brilliant too.
I love it.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:11am

I really didn't know what to do just by playing the game, but the controls were definitely interesting. I also like the sort of minimalist/peppy style.

Lars Faust says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:40am

This seems very interesting, but i couldnt figure out what to fo for the life of me. Only after several minutes i found out i have to hold down a key to make the ball thing move in its direction, then i managed to drive that little monster thing into all corners of the map, but nothing ever happened.
I also cant figure out what i am actually supposed to squeeze. What is that dark stuff at the bottom?

I think this could be very fun if i actually know what i am supposed to do. How about a bit more of a description?

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:30am

Hey, thanks for playing everyone! To those that were stuck: you're supposed to squeeze the boil that is squiggling around and running away from you. I'll add some arrows that point it out in the next build.

ezolotko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:53am

Wow, this is cool.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Best game so far for me, it's so unique, as it has been said it reminds me of wario ware, qwop and many weird game. Surprisingly it feels "complete" even though there is no other objective than fighting this underground beast forever.About the controls have you tried different control scheme, I have no idea if it can be better, but it didn't felt quite right, still I could get use to it. Great job, thank you. (do you make other games ?)

ryangatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:07am

That was probably the most interesting game of the whole competition. I felt like I was playing on the original GameBoy.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:47pm

wow this is hard. I don't quite get it but it's fun and has a nice weird aesthetic.

Sink says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:34am

I really love the sound effects and simple graphics! Cool game mechanic

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:56pm

It took me a while to understand what was going on, but once I did the game turned out to be a blast to play. The crawling mechanic bent my brain at just the right angle, and was responsive, unique, and fun enough to carry the entire game. Also, the fact that there's only one level isn't that much of a problem, given how easy it is to jump right back in for another round (which I've been finding myself doing a lot lately). And it was QUITE satisfying to win, too. ;) Great job!

XenosNS says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting control mechanics. Love the graphic style and the little baba sounds. Gross theme :-P

Draknek says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:44pm

This is... umm... yeah.

Moosefly says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I am glad I got to play this. Really awesome in its simplicity, and the "player" reminded me of this guy http://img3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130731000243/mlp/images/d/d1/Diaboromon.gif even though its just four claws and a floating ball. Felt like a total badass crawling around the skin, trying to capture that boil.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]