Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boku no Tentacle

by Zed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Man, this one was a stretch.

Enjoy a jetpack-y exploration-y atmospheric-y comedy romp through three (count 'em) levels of... tentacles. It's a bit like the Dam level from TMNT on the NES, except as a whole game.

Instructions, as per usual, are included within the game, except that you can press 'W' on the title screen to switch out of Full Screen to Windowed mode, if you like.

Ideally, I'd like you to play it in full screen wearing headphones, but I can't force you to. Hopefully, I CAN force you to at least turn your sound up, or else you'll miss ALL of the plot, and that's really the most important part.

Gamejolt is now back up, so it's hosted there. Both downloadable and quick play versions are available. It's just too big for me to make a Flash version, I'm sorry.

If you're on Mac or Linux, I can't personally vouch for this, but I've been TOLD most of my games usually run just fine in WINE, so... I dunno, maybe do that?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Humor4.28
#99Audio3.65
#139Mood3.65
#176Overall3.63
#190Theme3.69
#213Fun3.48
#302Graphics3.59
#797Innovation2.73
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

Hey man, you might want to fix your game link. I tried to load it and I only got a dead link.

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

NO idea what happened there. I temporarily uploaded to Dropbox because Gamejolt was down at the time of submission. Went to bed, woke up, everything's on fire. Now it's over on Gamejolt, hopefully all is well.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Great game, loved the commentary :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Great mood thanks to the good gameplay and the cool graphics. Congratulations !

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

mood and graphics are very great!

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice sound and gfx!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I really enjoyed this. The gameplay was a little simple and a kind of frustrating because of the lack of check points but the funny dialog made it so worth playing through. Easily the funniest entry I've played yet. The graphics also had a nice asthetic to them and the audio was relaxing.

Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Awww, this is lovely!

The voice makes this, and the gameplay feels actually quite good. "Flappy-Bird-Esque" comes to mind, in a good way :P

helekopeter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

i found a bug when you die in level 3 the enemys dont respawn so i got stuck becus an enemy was right were i spawn

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Oh god! That name!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice!. Bonus points for having that whole nooooooooooo-fail-at-the-very-end-of-the-level factor

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really great game, good humour and the music with commentary puts you in a great mood. Good job!
PS: I'm French and tentacles really have nothing to do with us! xD

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58pm

genuinely satisfying controls! the game was quite frustrating by i liked the voice overs :D

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This is amazing! I love atmosphere and the audio. the controls and the movement is smooth. It feels weird playing it though, the music tells me I should be relaxing but I'm under stress most of the time which is good! The game needs smaller levels (my 2 cents) Keep it up!

meszka says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great commentary, makes you want to pass the level just to hear the next part. I also liked the background audio and general look and feel. Gameplay is very simple, but it doesn't get boring since the game is short.

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The gameplay is not very original but feel good and the dialogs are just brilliant (and dubbed !). Really happy I've played this.

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice! It's almost as frustrating as mine! :-D

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:43am

I kinda felt like I was cheating as I took advantage of the fact that the bacon doesn't reset when you die to lure all of it near the spawn so I could speed past it and continue on unbothered, but other than that everything seemed spot on. Nice stuff.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:20am

Interesting entry. I like the feel of it.

Mythalore says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I always really like the comment and cut scenes you put in your games and this was no exception, great if a little in need of checkpoints.

Mythalore says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:04pm

*commentary

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:38pm

It seems to minimize on start-up (win7), is that a known thing? Or is it something on my end?

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I THINK that might be your end? It was made on Windows 7 32-bit and runs okay here.

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I absolutely love the visuals on this one

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Worked fine on my laptop, so no idea what that was about... Anyway, cool little game! Was disappoined that it was over so soon

iambored2006 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:06pm

This is so funny!
I liked the gameplay very much as well, it feels really good to thrust. Indeed. Anyway, I got stuck in the ceiling a couple of times, not really sure why.

CogComp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Well done! Relatively well balanced levels with funny dialogue. A lot more fun then some of the more "polished" games from this jam.

rojo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Hey, not bad. I got a kick out of some of the humor. The first two levels were pretty easy, but the last one was much harder. I think the game could have used some checkpointing, and a proper level reset when you die.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]