Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mycelium

by nSun - Jam Entry

[Game rule]
Drop mushrooms on mycelium, and help generations to reach every space. Try to find efficient or profitable patterns.
Rules: A mushroom need 2 other mushrooms around him to stay alive. A mushroom will grow at next generation if 3 mushrooms stay around an empty cell.

[Controls]
Mouse Left: Drop/remove mushrooms
Escape: Pause / Menu
Key G: next Generation
Key F: Fast generation
Key R: Restart level
Key H: Highlight empty cells

[Credit]
Inspired by Conway's Game of Life

[Story] (Beneath the surface)
Mycelium can be viewed as mushroom's roots. In fact, the mushroom is the fruit of a mycelium, the visible portion. Mycelium spreads for miles beneath the floor. It breaks down dead organic matter, and enriched the soil.
In a way, mycelium kitchen for any vegetation.
Help mycelium to feed mother nature.

[Developement]
I was very sick with the theme "Beneath the surface", and I could'nt start something saturday. I found idea of mycelium, but I was not very confident, and I tryed to find something else. I lacked of motivation. Finaly (Saturday night), I found that Mycelium were a great idea, so then I lacked of energy, and then lacked of time...
I post this game as Jam Entry, but I did it alone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Innovation(Jam)3.39
#401Theme(Jam)3.10
#486Fun(Jam)2.78
#531Humor(Jam)2.16
#548Overall(Jam)2.90
#584Graphics(Jam)2.80
#610Mood(Jam)2.59
#649Audio(Jam)1.67

Comments

bitserum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:34am

This was cool, anyone who appreciates the game of life will like this. Good job.

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Good graphics, interesting that you included both story and creative mode...

Nizar89 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The idea seems cool, but I have to admit, I didn't not completly understood how the generation works. I think there is a lack of feedbacks.

Stiil, great job!

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I love seeing the mushrooms grow, its so calming in a way.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Interesting idea, cool way of making Conway's Game of Life into more of a game. Good presentation.

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Pretty neat. You must be a fun guy in real life.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice implementation of the game of life. But since the playfield does not wrap around at the borders it is hard to get the borders finished.

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:03am

Most of the time, adaptation of the game of life makes bad or unplayable/aimless games. But this one was pretty fun, the conquest mechanic + mushroom limitation add a lot of strategy. You could make it even more strateigc by limiting move... Let's say 5 move per turn ( cumulative ). Some sfx on add/remove mushrooms + expansion would add a lot.

nSun says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:08am

@Zerkruemler : Actually, warping edges is a feature in creative mode (free play). I just thought that this effect might make the game too easy, and make it almost useless ship's patterns.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:24am

The mechanic is interesting enough. With some polished resources, this sure will be a great game!

May 4, 2014 @ 3:41pm

It's interesting game but had a hard time figuring out 'generation'

Muciojad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very original idea, I see game about mushrooms first time in this LD ;) Art is matching to gameplay, very solid entry. ;]

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:08am

Game of life! Hahaaaa, I see what you did there!

Solid game BTW.

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:34am

Very interesting take on the theme. I'm dumb so I don't really get how the mushrooms grow but I enjoyed trying different patterns and watching them grow. Maybe try to add music and sound fx. Good work for such a short time.

strong99 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:48am

As addicting as a Game of life could be, joy.

May 7, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Thanks for making me feel dumb. I'll go back and figure it out eventually though.

And I see what you did there, hanoth.

JokerDen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:28am

I like the concept of this game. Gameplay is addictional and not boring. And you know, all things about mushrooms are always interesting.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Well, I am not good at Conway's game of life apparently. Wasn't able to get past the first level. I didn't feel like looking up the rules of Life, so I just tried to mess around. Had some mushrooms growing Ok for a little while, but eventually they died out.

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:36pm

This is a really innovative concept - I'm not sure I've seen anything like it before! It is a bit tricky to predict the course of your actions, which is more of a difficulty with Conway's game of life than with your game. I think if you added some tutorials at the start, it could go a long way.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Very cool concept! The game mecanism is interesting.
my entry also have mushrooms :D

littleball says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Still trying to work it out, but it looks good. Well done.

607 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Wow, very good! I've known the concept of game of life, but am not too good at it, so I had to figure everything out myself. Unfortunately I only had time to solve the first level, but it was great. I think that when you want to make a real game out of game of life, this is the perfect way to do it.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Kind of tricky to play but very fun! Great concept game of life. Mechanic is interesting and neat. Miss the music!!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Interesting take on game of life.. but I think that custom/tweaked set of rules for cells would be even funnier -- now I can get rid of most levels by just gliders and it's not so enjoyable when the player know what he gets... ;)

copain says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice idea. I like Game of life.
But once you find some pattern (like cross) to get more mushroom and expand, this is a little repetitive. Maybe some obstacle that forced only one solution, will be nice.
(and a didacticiel for people who don't know game of life and to discover some patterns...)

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I love Conway's Game of Life so I was nerding out about making gliders with this :P

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Really interesting game. It took me a while to figure it out, but I got there eventually.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]