Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Jelly

by Detocroix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You descend into Dungeon Jelly to slay a betrayer, but... can you? Price of treachery is their jellied head on a spike.

How tos:
COLOR WHEEL is very important!
WASD - movement
Don't hit same color jellies.
Definitely hit opposite color jellies.
DO NOT get hit by opposite color jellies.
Sometimes it's better to run than fight same color jellies.
Bunch of jellies eeeveeeeryyyywheeeereeee.
Something bad awaits at level 15, probably the betrayer but who knows!

Played or not, thanks for your interest! :)

Note: There are no sounds in the entry.

Me on twitter: https://twitter.com/Detocroix
Me on website: http://www.detocroix.com/

Update 28.4.2014 - Added standalone builds for Windows, OSX and Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Graphics4.43
#199Overall3.59
#236Fun3.44
#260Innovation3.50
#400Humor2.67
#474Mood3.07
#967Theme2.68
#1006Audio1.62

Comments

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

A nice idea for this game with really pretty graphics and animations. I'm still a little confused about how to successfully hit other jellies - sometimes it works, other times we end up on the same tile. I'd love to see what the final boss looks like...

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

Any game that gets me talking smack to jello is Grade A in my book. Great graphics & fun gameplay.

Detocroix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

Nesis : Sometimes it's a good idea to wait and let the enemy come closer and then crush them! Running around easily results in jelly pile :)

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

Frustrating and buggy. Found a glitch where the player split apart really. Not my kinda game I guess.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

Really good visuals and good gameplay. One of my favourites :D

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Looks great and plays well, would be nice if the opposite colours were made more obvious.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Looks beautiful, but it's not always clear what's happening when you try to move into other jellies.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Just amazing. Everything is so smooth and polished. It's one of my favorites!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Really cool use of graphics and physics to make basic squares way more interesting

mogwai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Kinda fun gameplay and very nice looking and polished graphics.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

A nice idea for this game with really pretty graphics and animations. Movements jelly are really fun like boops - sorry for this comparaison :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Visuals and detail in the animation is gorgeous. Nice 'n simple - Would easily play more of this with a bit more depth to it! :D

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Really nice idea. I think this can grow in a great puzzle game.

jcvsmc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

love this! really fun puzzle-like mechanic :)

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Nice game. Love the graphics and explosions.
But like others mentioned, it's kind of unclear if you did damage or took some.
Would have been cool that have some sounds in there.

But I really like the concept, and the visuals. Very nice game.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Gorgeous jellys animations and good mechanics!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Stunning graphics and animation. I like your jelly heroes ;)

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Wow, the graphics for this are just fantastic, and it's great fun too. NICE!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Amazing graphics ! Really nice puzzle game. I like the turn based mechanic. The smacking jello animation + particules are awesome ! Great work !

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Yes! This is great, reminds me of 868-Hack in a positive way. You definitely made this your own. Would love some sounds!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

This delisious animation =)
Jelly cunes looking pretty well. But very low connection with theme.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

A very well polished game. I love the graphics they're awesome. With a little sound this would be a grade A game.
Very good job - Among the best games I've played this dare!

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Love the look of the game! The mechanic is cool too, but I really missed the audio...

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

very very cool jelly effects

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:36am

Like how the jellies move. Nice little game.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Awesome visual style and addictive gameplay.

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Overall pretty good, interesting colour mechanic but it's not really clear what's going on. Some more visual feedback on colour/damage or even when an attack has occurred would be useful. I tried rushing to the end but gave up. Love the jellies :)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Well done, I've almost leave this game after second try as I didn't know there is fighting system :) But then it got different meaning and I was playing this for 20 minutes or so.. got to level 15 and unfortunately has been swarmed there immediately. Really great entry, amazing gameplay and graphics!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice mechanics, the effect of the enemies dying is pretty cool! :D

May 3, 2014 @ 12:25am

Great game and quite addictive too. If there were kind of boingy jelly sounds when you moved It would have added to my humour and audio ratings but other than that I really enjoyed it. Great innovation.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:56am

First off, this is really good, and I guess that is why my complaints feel so frustrating. It could have been AWESOME but for a few things. For one thing, sound effects or music would be nice and could reduce stress. For another thing, the jelly bits look really nice when you kill jellies, but they make it hard to see, especially when the level is filled with them and you suddenly enter a new level, and those bits are still around.

Perhaps most importantly, the game feels super arbitrary. Yes there's the color wheel...but which color wheel? Red seems to be "more" opposite blue than green on some wheels, and blue opposite yellow. But purple/yellow are apparently paired? I'm probably crazy, but sometimes it felt like single hits would kill, and other times it took multiple hits.

Early levels would be great for introducing the concept if you stuck with color opposites...but only early levels, apparently everything dies in a single hit, making the multiple hits in later levels very confusing.

Ultimately the game made me want to largely avoid combat at all, and it becomes an exercise in repeatedly running through early levels and seeing whether the apparently arbitrary jelly spawn/goal spawn/jelly movements in later levels decide to humor you as opposed to completely trap you or block the goal.

If some of these things were addressed, this could be a great game though. Sorry to be so negative.

Detocroix says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:57am

@GAFBlizzard - Negative? Not at all! That's a great critique :) It's the classic color wheel (3 main colors and their opposites). There are a lot of variants to it of course, but the 3 main colors and 3 opposite colors is what is mostly used. There are of course massively more complex color wheels and most of them weirdly offset too...

The jelly bits I intended to clean up after going down a level, but ran out of time for the compo. I would have loved to improve feedback in general (sounds, introduction messages, feedback messages (damage, crits), some more effects etc)...

One of the last moment changes I did was adjust the jelly health based on level and that was a horrible call. It definitely were better with what I originally had and colors were more important from the beginning... now, as you say, you can just blow through the first levels without even knowing the color wheel is important.

Also it probably would have been a good idea to add color wheel image to the game, might have helped a bit :)

Thanks for the feedback!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:23am

Nice. Loved the visuals. The gameplay was tight and clever. Very very solid effort. Color wheel stuff is hard to do, though. Perhaps some hint when things are near as to what is deadly, etc?

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28am

Beautiful game! Roguelike with jellies! Me like. The game has no sound, right?

monaarc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice game :)

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:02am

wow that feels like jelly. nicely done.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Love the jelly movement and seeing enemy jellies break apart, nice game.

Chris Mondok says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:36pm

This is definitely the wobbliest game I've played this year. Looks cool. Gameplay wise, it's a bit lacking.

markusfisch says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Cool particle effects & fun to play. Well done!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice work! I got 600 points. Could definitely use some sound, but the graphics are some of the best I've seen yet.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Hi. Love the look and feel, jelly wobble! Nice mechanic on coloured combat. Shame no sound.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:27pm

this is one of the best GFX i've seen till now. The animations are SO GOOD!!!
Amazing

May 4, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Awesome visual and jelly animations. It's super addictive but gets hard pretty fast! I didnt quite understand it all though, sometimes same color jellies kill me, sometimes they don't, sometimes it's opposites ones that kill me... Strange!

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I'm not sure I know how to break jellies. Do they have more than one HP? I love the graphics and the concept :-)

tenpn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:15am

Beautiful looking game, and a nice little concept too. Enjoyed it, good work!

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:24pm

A++++ So much jelly! I find those particle effects fantastic :D

ActionRemix says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I'm jelly of those jelly animations. Difficult game for the colorblind.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:32am

Pretty cool

GFM says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:26am

Those are only cubes! Why are they so pretty? Amazing graphics!
The mechanic was interesting... but I'll have to get a color wheel to fully experience it. XD
I found it really weird to be a pseudo-turn based game... movement is tiles based, and the turn updates when you move... but it also updates after a maximum time. This was interesting, but weird.

vilya says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Love it! Amazing graphics and I really enjoyed the gameplay too. Pity there's no sound, but everything else about the game is great!

petey123567 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Dat wiggle!

conormn says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:51am

Really great entry. Think you got something really special on your hands. Would keep going for sure :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]