Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oh Shiny!

by pedrosanta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh Shiny!, a 'oh sh*t time flies' minimal prototype about a yellow square swimmer seeking shiny stuff on the bottom of the sea. Oh, and did I mention it has sharks? Shaaarks! Not tiger sharks, not hammer sharks, just plain 'ol red rectangle sharks! (Gotta love those, right?) You might wanna take a deep breath.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1959Coolness24%

Comments

GagaPete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

It is a nice start. Needs a lot of polishing though.

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:37am

Very simplistic but liked the controls.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Android-only? Bold move!

TheCze says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very nice game, can imagine playing this more often if it get's a little polish, maybe make it so that the player can move left & right by tilting the phone?

f7f5 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:53pm

reminds me of frogger (underwater version).

pichifino says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Like it

May 12, 2014 @ 6:04am

Nice start. It was fun although frustrating.

vilya says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Interesting to see an Android-only game, but unfortunately it meant I couldn't play it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]