Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

(sub)surface

by Andromatta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

kill the things cuz they're comin after ya.

if you attack downwards you'll break through the surface. likewise if you build up enough vertical speed underwater you'll break back through.

[w][a][s][d] - move/aim
[.] - jump (above surface)
[,] - slash (above surface)
[,] - fire (below surface) hold for more powerful shot/recoil
[r] - restart

no sound/music, no menus or tutorial, just one enemy, surface reflection is janky as hell and off by a frame.

the first thing that happened when i started this one was my computer got a virus and my mouse broke. i somehow made a game despite that. i'm going to sleep now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#211Graphics3.76
#558Fun3.00
#707Mood2.83
#709Overall3.03
#759Theme3.03
#773Innovation2.76

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

Solid jum'n'run! I like the minimalistic artstyle

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

Cool stuff man! I like the attacking effects.

pIMGale says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

95*

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice animations, I really enjoyed the splatter of blood pixels and water

petrih says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Awesome graphical design!

lucienpro says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17am

Hey! Really nice but needed a tutorial and title screen, reminds me a bit of mine, you should check it out. Good job!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:16am

Gorgeous graphics and really crisp movement, especially well-done given your further time constraints. I think there may be a minor bug in the collision detection for the above-ice attack--I've had a lot of creatures seem to be close enough that I'd be able to kill them, i.e. be within the strike range, and then take me out a moment later--and sometimes the slash attack seems a little bit underreactive. I enjoyed my time with this piece, though. The general mechanics are quite solid--might just need a little tune-up.

woodenrabbit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:07am

Good fun even though I suck at it. The way he moves feels really great.

DesignerNap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:22am

Smooth movement and a fun little game. Good work. Have you thought about adding a menu screen post competition for completion's sake?

Andromatta says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:24am

thanks y'all!

yeah character movement was the primary focus, everything else happened in the last afternoon, so it's broken as all hell. glad some people are enjoying it regardless!

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:28am

Really like the minimalistic style and idea! I couldn't get the seperate above/below controllers to work tho.. it always did the same above and below.. maybe it doesn't work well with international keyboard layouts? Great job!

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:32am

Simple but has an intriguing flow to it. I wish there was some audio, I enjoy the visuals and would love to experience the game with sound fx and music. The hit collision did behave a bit strange to me.

wicht says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:27am

The minimalistic style is really nice, controls & movement feel natural. Nice entry.

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:32am

Graphics and animation are the best bit about this game! Minimal but so effective - very Vlambeer. Some crunchy sfx and screen shake would do very well here. Mechanics could do with a bit of tweaking as going beneath the surface is not advisable!

meszka says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Gameplay above the surface feels more fun than below, but the recoil for movement mechanic is interesting. Needs some element to encourage switching between above/below.

Sannis says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Cool stuff.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Very buggy, but nice style and had a nice feel to it when it was working. Cool idea with the surface switching.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]