Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mole Wars

by Corné Dorrestijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Who will be the king of the world beneath the surface, its a fight until the death.

=== READ FIRST ===

Controls: During the game you will be asked to do certain actions like moving to the left. When asked for such an action just press a key you feel is right for that action. The game will remember that key so the next time you press that key the action will be used again.

=== READ FIRST ===

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Humor2.77
#384Graphics3.42
#473Theme3.35
#843Innovation2.67
#931Fun2.58
#997Mood2.45
#1148Overall2.48
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

I'm not sure if intended, but when I push 'left' key, my mole goes right!

But appart from that, pretty nice!

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

Cool game! Fight was a bit straightforward, but I liked the graphics and world design. Too bad you didn't have enough time :c
Good job!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Made me laugh, very cool style! Crazy moles..

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Looks very nice for the time, and the controls made me smile. Shame you didn't get to do more in the 48 hours.

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice little game, could have more content though.

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Liked the idea of the game and thought it fitted the theme well. Art was cute looking, however I could skip all combat and when I did fight I got battered fast.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

@johnhackworth: I've not setup any key in the game, the game tells you to do some actions and the key you press will be binded to that action.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Fun idea.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

This has potential. The fighting seems to be impossible as you take damage while the enemy attacks you. Perhaps add some knockback?
I like your idea of customizing the controls during regular play.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Not too sure if it was intended but the controls seem to be reversed.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Very weird controls - when you press left, mole jumps and when you press up it goes left. Also laggy overall on my pc (~10-15fps). Bonus points for graphics, really like em c:

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:28pm

It runs in browser without any plugins, which is in general a really, really good thing imho. The mole looks nice and funny. Aside from that, there is not much in your game to really rate. I would have ditched the combat idea and went with platforming puzzles at least, then you may have managed to put some meaningful challenges in there.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:36pm

None of the graphics are showing for me except the main mole and energy bars. Don't know what's up with that. Otherwise, I like how you let players decide controls in game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

need moar time? (- ; nice little game. Cool idea with the questions , really smart! also good art (- : looking forward for games where you had moar time!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:59pm

nice concept!

madmaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

I am the king!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:23am

Interesting idea with the controls. I think it could have been merged with the game itself in better ways. Definitly worth a though or two

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:42am

Epic idea, controls freaked out a bit...

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Hmm, did not really work well on my mac.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I could reach the throne. These was some epic mole fightings :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]