Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shovel Quest

by Nanolotl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Delve into the ground and collect all 16 artifacts.

Controls:
WASD/Arrows - Movement
Mouse - Aiming
Left Click/Space - Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Fun3.91
#62Overall3.91
#108Graphics3.98
#133Theme3.80
#149Humor3.29
#266Mood3.37
#519Innovation3.11
#534Audio2.81

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I love the style and gameplay.

Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Great game fun and surprising. Great job

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

Great game. You've come up with some neat mechanics, which go along well with the visuals and gameplay. I also enjoy the sense of humor. I've never been a prouder owner of a vintage coat hanger.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Great graphics!

lparker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40am

Great game!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

The engine is fast and responsive, that feels good. The blocky 3D engine with pixellated texture, while not original, is kinda cute. Passing the levels require a bit of thinking each time, which is good. Good entry overall!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

Thank you for supporting arrow keys. Could you also support non-wide screen-resolutions please?

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

Great style! I feel like the appearance would be significantly less weird if the hand that's attached to the body pivoted with the shovel hand instead. I can tell if I liked a game if I am willing to retry it after dying - and I was immediately willing to give this another go. Didn't make it past 14/16 artifacts, but I had fun anyway. Big fan of the pikmin-style artifact names. Definitely the funniest entry I've played so far.

psychopsam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

What a great game. I really like the graphics and style. Reminds me of Pitfall. Super polished too. Great work.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very VERY well done. Can you send me an envelope of butter-like substance? I need it for... for science... for to looking at it...

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice game well play ;)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58am

Now this one was great! I had a lot of zelda and soul blazer feels while playing this game. Great work

Frump says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

The targeting is a bit strange but I had a lot of fun with this. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

Very nice game, cute graphics

Contacaton says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17am

That poor spider at the end XD

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Loved it! The graphics were awesome, and the gameplay was solid.
Only complaint is that the controls could be a little tighter, but very good work nevertheless! :)

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Holy crap! That was fun! Probably one of my top 5!
Just a reminder, don't make mouse-based games without a fullscreen option, I found myself clicking outside the game while fighting spiders...

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Interesting, made me think of zelda games (the bomb). I love the art style.

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23pm

love the artifacts, the style, and the puzzle. I did not go very deep though. Very fun to play

mechabit says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:00am

I like the 3D graphics and the humor. Fun mechanics.

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:24am

Great execution of gameplay, and cute graphics.

Well done! Keep up the hard work!

bob_fish says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:27am

I found 7 on my first try. Very nice game. Great art, sounds and gameplay. Great job!

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:41am

Definitely enjoyed this one. I got a laugh out of dirt flavored lipstick. Some background music would have been great, though.

Lacaranian says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:53am

Cool game. The Pikmin style item descriptions were a nice touch. Kudos!

Troy says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:45am

I adore this game; probably my favorite of this Ludum Dare so far. The environments and art style are great. It was a little tedious when knocking those rocks around the map, particularly when through small openings, or when there were structures/wall obscuring the camera. Otherwise a great play. Fantastic work!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:08pm

This is quite a game for 48 hours!
Wow! Really well done!

Gap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:04pm

*High Five =>* Nice graphics, good game :)

VictorDoval says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Clean and fun!I Loved the cube style!

Belvar says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Impressive entry with great graphics. The gameplay is very smooth and fun to play.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Cute characters and the style pretty neat! Well done!

Jeremias says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

A solid game. The artifacts made me smile everytime :D sometimes the camera angle makes it a bit difficult to see paths or gaps.

Garris says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:57am

Good. Game. Would I play again? The short answer is yes. The long answer is yes, please. I'd like to see some music added, but this was a really fun, well-built game.

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:58am

Excellent job! Nice fleshed out concept and great humour

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

i like the overall feel of this game, good work!

May 12, 2014 @ 1:56am

Love the child aspect of the game. I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

JonathanG says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:01am

This is great! It's fun to play and there is a good progression of difficulty. It's packed with humour too!

copain says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:29am

Simple and fun. Good.

lucidlarva says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I loved this a ton. Really nice gameplay and art and sound and design.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:25am

Fun game, seems very much inspired by pikmin.

Moosefly says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:22pm

As others have already mentioned, it's a solid game. Didn't make it far on my first try, but got all of the artifacts on my second run (with one life to spare even). Nice simple puzzles too.

I did have some issues with it:
- Walls blocked your view in some points.
- The area you could see was quite limited, especially when moving towards the screen I had to move by tapping the key so I wouldn't run into any spiders.
- Could've used a fullscreen option.
- The enemies were somewhat tedious, being able to kill them in maybe three hits would've probably been more fun.
- Ambient background audio or something? Didn't like the walking sound effect.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Love this game :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]