Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Homesick

by jmf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Homesick is a short murder mystery game with logic puzzles, shapes and submarines. Look beneath the lies and silliness of the characters to find out who the murderer is.

Made with Renpy with assets created by me using the Gimp.

Tested on arch linux, windows XP and OS X. On OS X you may have to allow applications from unidentified sources, see here for details : https://kb.wisc.edu/helpdesk/page.php?id=25443

Hope you enjoy, please leave a comment if you like it or hate it or feel indifferent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#717Overall3.00
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great Humor! Liked it.

Phyyl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Very nice concept, but clicking over and over again is fells long and painfull, there should be automatic test scrolling or something... besides that, it was funny and be me LOL(the real definition) 5 stars for humour!

voidqk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

lol, well done, very fun :-) had me laughing out loud

kivifreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:58am

If triangle lies and says that the rectangle has a gender and the square confirms that, it would mean that triangle can't be the liar (quick fix)? Fun game though!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:03am

Really enjoyed playing this! Very funny, and these brain teasers are always fun. Very well done!

Small error I think: during their testimonies, both Triangle and Square refer to their third friend as Circle instead of Hexagon. Circle is me :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Funny game!

callidus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:58am

funny game :-)

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:17am

FUNNY!

GrooveMan says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I was not expecting a game about shape race relations, but I'm glad that's what it was about.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]